Back to IndieWire

AMPAS Names Nicholl Fellowship Honorees

AMPAS Names Nicholl Fellowship Honorees

AMPAS Names Nicholl Fellowship Honorees

by Mark Rabinowitz

Five screenwriters took home the green recently, with each being awarded
$25,000 by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. The five
were winners of this year’s Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in
Screenwriting, and the fellowships are awarded with the understanding
that each winner will complete a feature-length screenplay during the
following year.

The winners were: Glen C. Craney, for his script, “Whisper In The Wind“;
Scott Ferraiolo (previously announced as a finalist under the name Dante
Scott)-“The Palace Of Versailles“; Anthony J. Jaswinski-“Interstate“;
Karen L. O’Toole-“Wild Horses“, and Michele Sutter-“This Place In The Ways“. The winners were chosen from ten finalists by the Nicholl Committee:
writers Fay Kanin (chairperson), John Gay, Dan Petrie Jr., Frank Pierson,
Tom Rickman and Daniel Taradash; writer-director Alison Anders
(Nicholl winner, 1986), director Robert E. Wise, cinematographer John
Bailey, actor Jack Lemmon, producers Gale Anne Hurd and Peter Samuelson,
and agent Michael Zimring.

Past winners of the fellowship besides Anders, include: Max Adams
(“Excess Baggage“), Andrew Marlowe (“Air Force One“) and Jim McGlynn
(“Traveler“), all releasing films in 1997. Overall, the Academy received
4,006 entries from 25 countries, and accepts entries from anyone who has
not sold or optioned a screen- or teleplay for more than $1,000 or
received a fellowship or prize including a first look clause, an option,
or other payment. The Academy has no rights to the work of any Nicholl
fellow, including the script completed during the fellowship year.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox