Back to IndieWire

Forty-Four Countries Vie for Oscar Nomination

Forty-Four Countries Vie for Oscar Nomination

by Aaron Krach

44 films, from 44 countries were submitted to the Academy of Motion Picture
Arts and Sciences for consideration in the Best Foreign Language Film
category. Each country is invited to submit just one film, chosen by
filmmakers from that country. Unlike all the other categories, the Foreign
Language films do not need to have played in Los Angeles during the
calendar year. All the entries will be screened by a committee, chaired by
Fay Kanin and Nina Foch, to narrow the nominees down to five.

Several festival favorites have been submitted, Mexico’s “Deep Crimson“,
Belgium’s, “Ma Vie En Rose” and Egypt’s “Destiny“. Four countries entered this
year that have never submitted before. They are the Democratic Republic of
Congo, Luxembourg, South Africa and Ukraine. Two of the films are animated,
Croatia’s, “The Little Shoemaker” and Japan’s, “Princess Mononoke“. French
icon, Jean-Luc Godard is representing Switzerland with “For Ever Mozart“.
China did not submit a film.

This year’s submissions are:

Argentina, “Ashes From Paradise“, Marcelo Pineyro;

Austria, “The Unfish“, Robert Dornhelm;

Belgium, “Ma Vie En Rose”, Alain Beliner;

Brazil, “Four Days In September“, Bruno Baretto;

Canada, “Cosmos“, Jennifer Alleyn, Manon Briand, Marie-Julie Dallaire, Arto
Paragamian, Andre Turpin and Denis Villeneuve;

Colombia, “The Debt“, Manuel Jose Alvarez, Nicolas Buenaventura;

Democratic Republic of Congo, “Macadam Tribu“, Jose Laplaine;

Croatia, “The Little Shoemaker”, Milan Blazekovic;

Cuba, “Amor Vertical“, Arturo Sotto Diaz;

Czech Republic, “A Forgotton Light“, Vladimir Michalek;

Denmark, “Barbara“, Nils Malmros;

Egypt, “Destiny”, Youssef Chahine;

Finland, “The Collector“, Auli Mantila;

France, “Western“, Manuel Poirier;

Germany, “Beyond Silence“, Caroline Link;

Greece, “Slaughter Of The Cock“, Andreas Pantzis;

Hungary, “The Witman Boys“, Janos Szasz;

Iceland, “Blossi/810551“, Julius Kemp;

India, “Guru“, Rajiv Anchal;

Iran, “Gabbeh“, Mohsen Makhmalbaf;

Israel, “Picka A Card“, Julie Shles;

Italy, “The Best Man“, Pupi Avati;

Japan, “Princess Mononoke”, Hayao Miyazaki;

Luxembourg, “Elles“, Luis Galvao Teles;

Macedonia, “Gypsy Magic“, Stole Popov;

Mexico, “Deep Crimson”, Arturo Ripstein;

The Netherlands, “Character“, Mike van Diem;

Norway, “Junk Mail“, Pal Sletaune;

The Philippines, “Milagros“, Marilou Diaz-Abaya;

Poland, “Love Stories“, Jerzy Stuhr;

Portugal, “Journey To The Beginning Of The World“, Manoel De Oliveira;

Russia, “The Thief“, Pavel Chukhrai;

Slovak Republic, “Orbis Pictus“, Martin Sulik;

Slovenia, “Outsider“, Andrej Kosak;

South Africa, “Paljas“, Katinka Heyns;

Spain, “Secrets Of The Heart“, Montxo Armendariz;

Sweden, “Tic Tac“, Daniel Alfredson;

Switzerland, “For Ever Mozart”, Jean-Luc Godard;

Taiwan, “Yours And Mine“, Shaudi Wang;

Thailand, “Daughter 2“, Chartichalerm Yukol;

Turkey, “The Bandit“, Yavuz Turgul;

Ukraine, “A Friend Of The Deceased“, Vyacheslav Krishtofovich;

Venezuela, “One Life And Two Trails“, Alberto Arvelo;

Yugoslavia, “Three Summer Days“, Mirjana Vukomanovic.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged