Back to IndieWire

Duvall’s "Apostle" Nabs Most Nominations for 13th Independent Spirit Awards

Duvall's "Apostle" Nabs Most Nominations for 13th Independent Spirit Awards


by Eugene Hernandez

The nominees for the 13th annual Independent Spirit Awards were announced
at an IFP/West reception in Los Angeles last night and Robert Duvall’s “The
” received the most nominations of the night, with six (Best
Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Male Lead, and two for Best
Supporting Female). A record 146 films were submitted for consideration,
with nominations determined by an eleven member committee of individuals
from the independent film community.

Victor Nunez’ “Ulee’s Gold,” Miguel Arteta’s “Star Maps” and “Boogie
” director Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Hard Eight” received five nods
each. The two nominations for Kasi Lemmons’ “Eve’s Bayou” were met with
tremendous applause; the popular film has earned over $13 million at the
box office. The nominations marked two of four received by Trimark.
Distributor Sony Pictures Classics took the most nominations, earning 10,
between five films (“Afterglow,” “In The Company of Men,” “The Myth of
,” “subUrbia,” and “Waiting for Guffman.”).

One the surprises of the evening was the nomination of “Loved,” for Best
Feature. The film, which stars Robin Wright Penn, William Hurt and Amy
Madigan has yet to secure distribution. Penn and Madigan were also
nominated in the Best Female Lead and Best Supporting Female categories
respectively. Additionally, three films which are being self-distributed
received nominations: Daniel J. Harris’ “The Bible and Gun Club” garnered
three nominations (for Best First Feature, Best Cinematography, and Best
First Screenplay). “Habit” by Larry Fessenden, who received the “Someone
to Watch
” honor at 1997’s Spirit Awards, received two nominations (Best
Director and Best Cinematography). Ash’s “Bang” received a single
nomination, for Best Debut Performance by Darliong Narita.

Among the eligibility requirements are that films must have shown at a
commercial theater during 1997 or have played at one of six film festivals
(New York, Seattle, Sundance, Telluride, Toronto or New Directors/New
Films). The complete membership of the IFP organizations nationwide are
eligible to vote for the winners.

The complete list of nominees follows:

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer):

The Apostle,” Producer: Rob Carliner

Chasing Amy,” Producer: Scott Mosier

Loved,” Producer: Philippe Caland

Ulee’s Gold,” Producers: Sam Gowan & Peter Saraf

Waiting for Guffman,” Producer: Karen Murphy

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director & producer):

The Bible and Gun Club,” Director/Producer: Daniel J. Harris

Eve’s Bayou,” Director: Kasi Lemmons, Producers: Caldecot Chubb & Samuel
L. Jackson

Hard Eight,” Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, Producers: Robert Jones &
John Lyons

In the Company of Men,” Director: Neil LaBute, Producers: Mark Archer &
Stephen Pevner

Star Maps,” Director: Miguel Arteta, Producer: Matthew Greenfield


Robert Duvall, “The Apostle”

Larry Fessenden, “Habit”

Victor Nunez, “Ulee’s Gold”

Paul Schrader, “Touch”

Wim Wenders, “The End of Violence”

BEST DEBUT PERFORMANCE (Given to actors making their first appearance in a
feature film):

Tyrone Burton, Eddie Cutanda, and Phuong Duong, “Squeeze”

Aaron Eckhart, “In the Company of Men”

Lysa Flores, “Star Maps”

Darling Narita, “Bang”

Douglas Spain, “Star Maps”


Julie Christie, “Afterglow”

Stacy Edwards, “In the Company of Men”

Alison Folland, “All Over Me”

Lisa Harrow, “Sunday”

Robin Wright Penn, “Loved”


Farrah Fawcett, “The Apostle”

Amy Madigan, “Loved”

Debbi Morgan, “Eve’s Bayou”

Miranda Richardson, “The Apostle”

Patricia Richardson, “Ulee’s Gold”


Robert Duvall, “The Apostle”

Peter Fonda, “Ulee’s Gold”

Christopher Guest, “Waiting for Guffman”

Philip Baker Hall, “Hard Eight”

John Turturro, “Box of Moonlight”


Efrain Figueroa, “Star Maps”

Samuel L. Jackson, “Hard Eight”

Jason Lee, “Chasing Amy”

Ajay Naidu, “SubUrbia”

Roy Scheider, “The Myth of Fingerprints”


Robert Duvall, “The Apostle”

Kevin Smith, “Chasing Amy”

Paul Schrader, “Touch”

Victor Nunez, “Ulee’s Gold”

Christopher Guest & Eugene Levy, “Waiting for Guffman”


Daniel J. Harris, “The Bible and Gun Club”

Steven S. Schwartz, “Critical Care”

Paul Thomas Anderson, “Hard Eight”

Neil LaBute, “In the Company of Men”

Miguel Arteta, “Star Maps”


Michael Barrow & John Foster, “Sunday”

Frank DeMarco, “Habit”

Robert Elswit, “Hard Eight”

Decian Quinn, “Kama Sutra”

Alex Vendler, “The Bible and Gun Club”

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the Director):

The Sweet Hereafter,” Director: Atom Egoyan

Happy Together,” Director: Wong Kar-Wai

Nenette et Boni,” Director: Claire Denis

Mouth to Mouth” (“Boca a Boca“), Director: Manuel Gomez Pereira

Underground,” Director: Emir Kusturica

[Los Angeles-based indieWIRE Contributing Editor Tom Cunha contributed to
this report.]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox