Back to IndieWire

Texas Critics Honor "The Sweet Hereafter" as Best Picture

Texas Critics Honor "The Sweet Hereafter" as Best Picture

by Eugene Hernandez

The Society of Texas Film Critics recently named Atom Egoyan’s “The Sweet
” its Best Picture of the year. Errol Morris’ “Fast, Cheap and Out
of Control
” was named Best Documentary and “Shall We Dance?” was picked as
best Foreign Language Film by the Texas group. Filmmaker Neil LaBute’s script
for “In the Company on Men” as awarded the Best Original Screenplay Award,
while Brian Helgeland and Curtis Hanson’s script for “L.A. Confidential” was
honored with the Best Adapted Screenplay award.

STFC President Joe Leydon revealed that the group, which includes film critics
from all major Texas cities, also voted Robert Duvall the Best Actor of 1997
for his performance in “The Apostle,” and Helena Bonham Carter was named Best
Actress for “Wings of the Dove.” Kevin Spacey was named Best Supporting Actor
for “L.A. Confidential” and “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil,” and
Joan Cusack was named Best Supporting Actress for “In & Out.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox