Back to IndieWire

"L.A. Confidential" and "As Good As it Gets" Take WGA Prizes

"L.A. Confidential" and "As Good As it Gets" Take WGA Prizes

by Eugene Hernandez

With the nominations announced nearly two weeks ago, the race for the Oscar
began in earnest on Saturday night with the announcement of screenwriting
awards by the Writers Guild of America.

L.A. Confidential,” written by Brian Helgeland and the film’s director,
Curtis Hanson, received the WGA award for best adapted screenplay based on
the James Ellroy novel. Meanwhile, Mark Andrus and James L. Brooks received
the best original screenplay award for “As Good As it Gets“. “Good”
screenwriter James L. Brooks also received the WGA’s Paddy Chayefsky Award
for his work with Alan Burns on “Room 222” and “The Mary Tyler Moore Show.”

While “L.A. Confidential” was considered a favorite in the adapted
category, the win for “As Good as It Gets” may be considered a surprise,
given the tremendous amount of attention for James Cameron’s “Titanic” and
Ben Affleck and Matt Damon’s “Good Will Hunting” screenplays.


(Feb 05, 1998) WGA Names Nominees

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged