Back to IndieWire

Oscar on the Brain as Cinematographers and Editors Guilds Announce Nominees

Oscar on the Brain as Cinematographers and Editors Guilds Announce Nominees

Oscar on the Brain as Cinematographers and Editors Guilds Announce Nominees

by Eugene Hernandez

Days before the nominations for the 70th Academy Awards will be announced
to a nationwide television audience, critics, pundits and moviegoers are
speculating about this year’s honorees. Predicting nominations and eventual
winners is an annual ritual here in Los Angeles, where the Academy Awards
are anticipated with Super Bowl level hysteria. With the announcement
yesterday of two key sets of guild nominations, speculation is heating up
— both the American Society of Cinematographers and the American Cinema
Editor weighed in with their choices, on the heels of the Writers Guild
nominations announcement earlier this week.

Independent films were shut out in the ASC’s nominations for the
organization’s 12th Outstanding Achievement Awards. Selected for their work
in 1997 were: Janusz Kaminski for “Amistad,” Chris Menges for “The Boxer,”
Roger Deakins for “Kundun,” Dante Spinotti for “L.A. Confidential,” and
Russell Carpenter for “Titanic.” The ASC is often seen as a predictor of
the Academy Awards Cinematography award, with as many as four ASC nominees
often getting Oscar recognition. The last two ASC winners also won the
Academy Award. The ASC choices will be announced at the group’s awards
dinner in Los Angeles on March 8.

Meanwhile, the American Cinema Editors offered the nominees for their own
awards yesterday. This will mark the group’s 48th Annual “Eddie Awards”
competition. In the feature film category, only one movie from the
specialty division of a studio was selected, that being Miramax’ “Good Will
” and its editor, Pietro Scalia. The other nominations went to
studio film. They are: Richard Francis-Bruce for “Air Force One,” Richard
Marks for “As Good As It Gets,” Peter Honess for “L.A. Confidential,” and
Conrad Buff for “Titanic.”

In the documentary category, three films were singled out. Jay Rabinowitz,
longtime editor on Jim Jarmusch films, was nominated for his work on the
October Film’s release, “Year of the Horse,” while Paul Barnes and Erik
Ewers were selected for “Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps
” and Arnold Glassman was nominated for “Frank Capra’s American
.” At the group’s annual ceremony on March 14th here in Los Angeles,
three time Academy Award winning producer Saul Zaentz will be given the “ACE
Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award.” It will be presented by editor Walter

[The nominations for the 70th Academy Awards will be announced Tuesday
morning. indieWIRE will offer complete coverage with extra email editions
and a complete list at]


(Feb 05, 1998) WGA Names Nominees

(Jan 29, 1998) SAG Heaps Kudos on Indies

(Jan 27, 1998) Nods for DGA Award Announced

(Jan 12, 1998) AMPAS Names Scientific and Technical Academy Award Winners

(Jan 05, 1998) Texas Critics Honor “The Sweet Hereafter” as Best Picture

(Dec 19, 1997) Golden Globe Nominations announced, “Titanic” Leads with 8

(Dec 12, 1997) “Confidential”; “Fast, Cheap” Win Second Best Picture Honor

(Nov 26, 1997) Forty-Four Countries Vie for Oscar Nomination

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged