Back to IndieWire

Turturro Has Independent Spirit

Turturro Has Independent Spirit

by Mark Rabinowitz

1998 Independent Spirit Award nominee John Turturro (“Box of Moonlight“)
has been tapped by the Independent Feature Project/West to host this year’s
award ceremony, set to take place on the beach in Santa Monica, California
on Saturday, March 21st. Joining Turturro on the podium this year are
Honorary Chairpeople Jodie Foster and former host, Samuel L. Jackson. Since
appearing in Tom Di Cillo’s “Box of Moonlight,” Turturro has completed
Rounders,” “Lesser Prophets” and “The Big Lebowski,” and is in
post-production on his second directorial effort, “Illuminata.” Honorary
Chair Jackson received two nominations this year, Best Supporting Male for
Hard Eight” and as co-producer of Best First Feature nominee “Eve’s
.” Jackson also won the 1995 Best Actor Spirit for “Pulp Fiction” and
hosted the event in 1996 and 1997. Referring to Turturro, Foster and
Jackson, Dawn Hudson, executive director of the IFP/West said, “It is
exciting to have old friends and long-time supporters of the IFP/West back
to honor this year’s nominees and winners.”

Turturro joins a distinguished list of former MC’s, including: Kevin
Pollack, Samuel Jackson (twice), Buck Henry, Peter Coyote and Robert

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged