Back to IndieWire

IFP/West Chooses Three To (S)Watch

IFP/West Chooses Three To (S)Watch

by Aaron Krach

The Independent Feature Project/West announced the nominees for this
year’s, “Swatch Someone To Watch Award,” to be presented during the
Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday, March 21st in Santa Monica,
California. The candidates are: Erin Dignam (“Loved“), Tim Blake Nelson
(“Eye of God“) and Scott Saunders (“The Headhunter’s Sister“). The
Swatch Award honors filmmakers, “of exceptional talent who have yet to
receive appropriate recognition.” The nominating committee was chaired
by Peter Broderick, Next Wave Films and included Michele Foreman, Robert
Hawk, John Powers and Rachel Rosen. Past recipients of the Swatch Award
include Lodge Kerrigan (“Clean, Shaven“) Christopher Munch (“Color of a
Brisk and Leaping Day
“) and last year’s winner Larry Fessenden

The award has been instrumental in helping struggling filmmakers reach a
wider audience. “I had been shopping “Habit,” for around 14 months when
I got the Swatch Award. Winning prompted important critics to take the
film seriously, which changed the life of the film immeasurably,” said

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox