You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Seattle International Film Festival & The New Festival Announce Award Winners; San Sebastian Tribute

Seattle International Film Festival & The New Festival Announce Award Winners; San Sebastian Tribute

Seattle International Film Festival & The New
Festival Announce Award Winners; San Sebastian Tribute Unveiled

Compiled by Cal Godot & Mark Rabinowitz

>> The 24th annual Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) announced the
winners of the Golden Space Needle Awards on Sunday evening, with the
audience award for Best Feature Film going to Julia Sweeney’s “God Said
” This film version of Sweeney’s one-woman show was her directorial
debut. Best Director went to Bill Condon for his film, “Gods and
,” a biopic about “Frankenstein” director James Whale. Stephen
Fry picked up the Best Actor award for his performance as infamous poet
and iconoclast Oscar Wilde, which was the favorite of most audiences.
The Best Actress award was predictably presented to Christina Ricci for
her role in Don Roos’ “The Opposite of Sex.”

In addition to the audience awards, several special awards were given at
SIFF this year. These winnners were the selection of special panels or
committees whose members were chosen before the festival. The American
Independent Filmmaker Award, sponsored by the Independent Film Channel,
went to director John Shea’s “Southie.” The Washington State Screenplay
Competition was won by Andre LeDoux for “Cat by the Road,” and the New
Directors Showcase Award, given to the best new director, was won by
Valery Todorovsky for “Land of the Deaf,” with an honorable mention
going to Carine Adler “Under the Skin.” The Short Filmmaker Award,
sponsored by Real Networks and, went to director Niklas Roy for
his film “Trigon.” As part of the Award, Roy will receive $1,000 from The nominees and winner of this award are viewable on the website.

[For a complete listing of awards, visit the festival website at:>]

>> The New York Lesbian and Gay Film Festival (The New Festival) handed out
its awards on Sunday night, with the Best Feature Award going to
Francois Ozon’s “See the Sea” (“Regarde la Mer“) and Best Documentary
Award going to Laurent Bocahut for “Woubi Dahling.” In addition, there
were two Special Mentions given out by the documentary jury, one for
Treyf” by Alisa Lebow & Cynthia Madansky and one for “Spicy Movie” by
Alfred Ryf Triangeli. The Vito Russo Award, for completion funds, went
to Jocylyn Taylor for her film “A Taboo Series,” while the Audience
Award went to Angelina Maccarone’s “Everything Will Be Fine” (“Alles
Wird Gut

>> The 46th Donostia-San Sebastian International Film Festival will fete
director Terry Gilliam as the subject of their annual retrospective. The
festival recently issued a press release regarding the tribute,
referring to Gilliam as “an independent, unorthodox and daring
filmmaker.” The retropective will consist of Gilliam’s animation work as
well as his feature films. As a member of the Monty Python comedy
troupe, Gilliam created the animated shorts that filled their TV series
and film work, and he also directed such films as: “Brazil,” “The Fisher
King,” “The Adventures of Baron Munchausen,” “Time Bandits,” and “Fear
and Loathing in Las Vegas
.” He also co-directed, along with Python mate
Terry Jones, “Monty Python and the Holy Grail.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged