You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

SFLGFF Winners; Venice Looking for Indies; July in Maine; and Huntington Winners

SFLGFF Winners; Venice Looking for Indies; July in Maine; and Huntington Winners

SFLGFF Winners; Venice Looking for Indies; July in Maine;
and Huntington Winners

Compiled by Aaron Krach and Eugene Hernandez

>> David Moreton’s “Edge of Seventeen” nabbed the Audience Award for Best
Feature, while Tim Kirkman’s “Dear Jesse” won the Audience Award for Best
Documentary as the 1998 San Francisco International Gay & Lesbian Film
Festival came to a close this weekend. The Audience prize for Best Short was
presented to Laurie Schmidt for her film, “Sleep Come Free Me“, while Todd
Downing’s “Dirty Baby Does Fire Island” won the Absolut Audience Award for
Lesbian & Gay Animation. Festival attendance topped 75,000 this year, with
organizers reporting that nearly half of all programs were completely sold out.

>> The first Maine International Film Festival will run July 10-19 in
Waterville, Maine. Highlights include a tribute to New York-based
production company Good Machine, with co-topper Ted Hope on hand to
introduce Good Machine-made films (Hal Hartley’s “Flirt,” Todd Haynes’
Safe” and Hilary Brougher’s “Sticky Fingers of Time“) and speak at
seminars. Director Costa Gavras will be on hand to lead a seminar
discussion of political Cinema, with his classic film “Z” set to screen.
Documentarian Frederick Wiseman will present “Public Housing,” about an
inner city Chicago Housing development.

>> For the first time, the Venice International Film Festival is accepting
submissions for a special 4-day series of screenings at the Tribeca Film
Center, July 14-18. Festival Director Felice Laudadio and Selection
Committee member Deborah Young will be in New York to screen “non-studio
American Independent titles.” Films will be screened for consideration
in the Festival’s five main sections: Official competition,
Non-Competitive, Short Film Competition, Midnight Screenings and
international Critics Week for first or second time directors.

Complete features and shorts will be screened on film. Works In
Progress, (with a guaranteed completion by mid-August) will be screened
on video or in double system format. Eligible films must only have been
released in North America and not shown in any film festival outside of
the US or Canada. Sandy Mandelberger of International Media Resources is
organizing the New York Submission Screenings.

Form, please contact: Sandy Mandelberger, International Media Resources,
599 Broadway, 8th Floor, New York, NY 10012, tel: 212 941 1464, fax: 212
431 0329, e-mail:

>> The Huntington International Independent Film Festival wrapped,
handing out several awards. Jacki Ochs’, “Letters Not About Love
won the Dziga Vertov Visionary Artist Award, which comes with $2500 in
Kodak Film Stock. The Orson Welles First Feature Film Award went to
Derek Cianfrance, “Brother Tied.” The John Cassavetes Creative Artist
Award went to director, David Williams, “Thirteen.” The Andre Bazin
Independent Film Artist Award was given to Hal Hartley for his Cannes
Screenwriter Award winning film, “Henry Fool.” Francisco Aliwalas,
Disoriented,” and Alison Swan, “Mixing Nia,” shared the Jean Renoir
Award for Storytelling. The Shirley Clarke Artistic Achievement Award
went to Alan Baxter and Charles Ricciardi for “Barriers.”

Special Acheivement Awards were also given; for Originality, Craig
Richardson, “Anima;” for Screenwriting, Jason Sklaver, “Grey Areas;” for
Screenwriting, Robert Weston Ackerman, “Origin of the Species;” for
Comedy, Michael Bofaro, “For a Few Lousy Dollars;” for New York Story,
Charles Merzbacher, “Jane Street.” The George Stoney Advocacy Award in
Documentary Film was awarded to Jonathan Stack & Liz Garbus, “The Farm.”
Special Achievement in Documentary Film award was given to Bill Donovan,
Michael Harrington, and Yusuke Motohashi, “The Hidden Truth: The Records
of B- and C-Class War Criminals.
” The Artistic Achievement Award for
Original Vision was given to Serge Marcotte, “The Sickroom.” Jim
Trainor’s, “The Fetishist,” was chosen as Best Animated Short Film.
Timothy Cox was honored with a Special Achievement by a Florida State
University Student for his film, “Tyger Tyger.” The Maya Deren Award for
Artistic Achievement in Video went to Sam Zanger, “Onegin.” An award for
Artistic Achievement in Ethnographic Video was given to Andrea Leland,
Kathy Berger, & the Garifuna of Belize, “The Garifuna Journey.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged