You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Student Academy Award Winners; Miramax’ Goei Deal; and FAF Grant Recipients

Student Academy Award Winners; Miramax' Goei Deal; and FAF Grant Recipients

and FAF Grant Recipients

Compiled by Aaron Krach

>> Twelve film students from the United States and one from Germany received
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Student Academy Awards Sunday
night in Los Angeles. Alternative Category Gold Medal: “Sombra,” Robin
Larsen, UCLA; Animation Category Gold: “Jataka,” Peter Choe and Neal
Nellans, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota FL; Silver:
Switchback,” Kyle Clark, USC; Bronze: “Put on A Happy Face,” Suzanne Lee
Twining, University of the Arts, Philadelphia; Documentary: Gold (tie)
Fighting Grandpa,” Greg Pak, NYU and “Occidental Encounters,” Yuriko Gamo
Romer, Stanford University; Bronze: “Wayne Freedman’s Notebook,” Aaron
Lubarsky, Stanford University; Dramatic, Gold: “Bleach,” Bill Platt, NYU;
Silver: “My Body,” Joes Moffett, Matthias Visser, American Film Institute,
Los Angeles; Bronze: “Intermezzo,” Dana H. Glazer, NYU. Thorsten Schmidt
Rochade was honored with Honorary Foreign Film Student Award.

>> British theater/television director Glen Goei signed a “first-look,
three-picture deal” with Miramax. During last month’s Cannes film festival,
Miramax acquired North American and UK rights to Goei’s “Forever Fever,”
about a “twenty-something in Singapore who undergoes a dramatic
transformation when he’s bitten by the disco bug.”

>> San Francisco’s Film Arts Foundation awarded 25 film and videomakers grants
totaling $58,000. Personal Works Category: Jordan Biren, Kmosea Hoo
Bristol, Tom E. Brown, Todd Herman, Chris Lanier, Chip Lord, Jim Mendiola,
Nina Paley, Maja Tillman, and Deke Weaver won awards in the Personal Works
category. Development Category: Sam Green, Dawn Logsdon, Thomas Luehrsen,
David Weissman, and Ted White. Completion/Distribution Grants: Corrina
Askin, Jean Cheng and Laura Plotkin. STAND (Support, Training & Access for
New Directors) recipients; Mimi Anderson, Charlotte Gutierrez, Sarah
Hallman, Kevin Michael, Rosaura Camacho, Emilio A. Orozco and Thenmozhi

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged