Back to IndieWire

“Celebrity” in NY; Long Island Winners; and “Unknown” Film Fest awards

"Celebrity" in NY; Long Island Winners; and "Unknown" Film Fest awards

"Celebrity" in NY; Long Island Winners; and "Unknown"
Film Fest awards

by Eugene Hernandez

>> Allen Film to Open NY Film Fest

Celebrity“, the new movie by Woody Allen, will open the 36th New York
Film Festival
on Sept. 25th, organizers announced this week. This is
the first time that a Woody Allen movie will open the NYFF. The event
runs through Octover 11th at Lincoln Center in Manhattan. “Celebrity”
offers a star-studded cast, including Kenneth Branagh, Judy Davis,
Leonardo DiCaprio, Melanie Griffith, Winona Ryder, and Famke Janssen.
The film is having its world premiere earlier in the month at the Venice
International Film Festival.

>> Long Island Winners Announced

Kip Koenig’s “How to Make the Cruelest Month“, which screened at
this year’s Sundance Film Festival, won the Best of the Fest award
at the 1998 Long Island Film Festival, organizers announced this
weekend. The festival’s grand jury prize was awarded to Robert
Byington’s “Olympia.” The Audience Choice award for a feature film
was given to Carmine Cangliosi, Steve Race, and Richard Davis, while
the First Feature Award went to Mark Schiffer’s “Strong Island Boys.”

>> “Antz” Closing Toronto

The new computer-animated film from Dreamworks, “Antz,” has been
selected to close the 1998 Toronto Film Festival, according to Variety.
Also added to the festival lineup, according to the Hollywood trade
publication, are Benoit Jacquot’s “L’Ecole de la Chair” with Isabelle
Huppert, and Pat O’Connor’s “Dancing at Lughnasa” with Meryl Streep.

>> Dances With Films Winners Named

Dances With Films, the self-proclaimed “Festival of the Unknowns,”
concluded recently in Southern California with the announcement of
award winners. Aaron Downing’s “Pure Killjoy” took the top prize
in the feature category, and Donna Silverberg & Bradley Fisher’s “Knock
on Wood
” won the feature audience award. Organizers describe the
event as a festival “designed to highlight the works of completely
unknown filmmakers, films with no ‘known’ directors, actors,
producers, or monies from known production companies. The
Unknown Screenwriter Award” (feature) was given to Mack
Polhemus for “The Scottish Tale” and the “Unknown Cinematographer
Award” went to Lawrence Schwiech and Nils Erickson for “Hurricane

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox