You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Gordon Parks Finalists Announced; IFC2000 Winners Announced

Gordon Parks Finalists Announced; IFC2000 Winners Announced

Gordon Parks Finalists Announced; IFC2000 Winners

Mark Rabinowitz

>> IFP Names Parks Award Finalists

With the 1998 Independent Feature Film Market kicking off today in NYC,
the IFP has announced the jury and finalists for the second annual
Gordon Parks Independent Film Awards, with $10,000 to be awarded by the
six jurors to an African-American director and screenwriter to be culled
from the nine finalists. The winning films will be screened at this
year’s IFFM, running through September 25. In addition to the cash
prizes, the winners get the chance to discuss their film with one of the
Viacom divisions sponsoring the competition. These include MTV Films,
Nickelodeon Movies, Paramount Pictures, and Showtime Networks. In
addition, the directing award winners will receive a public screening at
the IFP’s monthly screening series, Independents Night!. Gordon Parks,
one of the world’s foremost photographers, was instrumental in the
introduction of black directors to Hollywood. His 1969 film, “The
Learning Tree
,” was the first studio-financed film by a black director
and the huge commercial success of his second film, “Shaft“, in 1971,
brought Parks international recognition as a director.

The finalists for the Directing Award are: “All Power to the People” by
Lee Lew-Lee (Documentary/Feature); “Away in a Manger” by Z. Cathleen
Campbell (Short); “Cappucino” by Craig Ross, Jr. (Work-in-Progress);
Detention” by Darryl LeMont Wharton (Work-in-Progress); “Drylongso
(Ordinary) by Cauleen Smith (Feature); “Girl Talk” by Stacey L. Holman
(Short); “Mute Love” by Patrice Mallard, (Work-in-Progress); and “Park
” by Sterling Macer, Jr. (Feature). The finalists for the
Screenwriting Award are: “Death Takes a Holiday” (Brothers in Arms) by
Z. Cathleen Campbell; “The Jar” by the Door by Tamika Lamison; “The
Judgement Days
” by Myla Churchill; “Wash My Feet Baby!” by Charles Hall;
and “The Wretched” by Marlon Jamal.

The jury includes Emmy Award-winning director, Neema Barnette, (“Run for
the Dream: The Gail Devers Story
“); film director Charles Burnett (“To
Sleep With Anger
“); Preston Holmes, President of DEF Pictures, producer
New Jack City” and “How to Be a Player“;. Gordon Parks, Sr.; Cornel
West, Professor of African-American Studies at Harvard University ;
Two-time Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award-winning playwright August Wilson,
(“Fences,” “Joe Turner’s Come and Gone,” “The Piano Lesson,” and “Seven

>>IFC 2000 Winners Announced

The Independent Film Channel and the Independent Feature Project have
announced the winners of the first IFC2000 national student film
competition. The awards will be handed out at a reception on September
19th at a ceremony which will include a screening of the winning films.
In addition, the winners will receive a cash prize, a Los Angeles
screening on October 1st, 1998, co-hosted by the Professional Imaging
Division of Eastman Kodak Company, and an airing on the Independent Film
Channel later this year. The winners were as follows:

Grand Prize: $10,000 cash and $10,000 in products from Eastman Kodak
Company — “17 Years to Earth” by Perry Lin from Columbia University,
School of the Arts, Film Division; Outstanding Achievement Animation:
$2,500 cash prize — “Hisao” by Masahiro Sugano from the University of
Illinois at Chicago, School of Art & Design; Outstanding Achievement
Documentary: Two tied winners will split the $2,500 cash prize, “El
Corrido de Cecelia Rios
” by Kristy Guevra-Flanagan from San Francisco
State University and “Man & Dog” by Randolph A. Benson from North
Carolina School of the Arts.

The selection jury included award-winning documentarian St.Clair Bourne
(“John Henrik Clarke: A Great and Mighty Walk“); Academy Award-winning
animator Faith Hubley (“Moonbird,” “The Hole“); George Lentz, Director
of Acquisitions for the Bravo Networks (Bravo, The Independent Film
Channel, World Cinema and Bravo International); and award-winning
filmmakers Mark Christopher (“54“) and Bill Duke (“Rage in Harlem,”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox