Back to IndieWire

“Affliction” Tops Spirit Award Nominations; “Monster,” “Art,” and “Sex” Also Nab Numerous Nods

"Affliction" Tops Spirit Award Nominations; "Monster," "Art," and "Sex" Also Nab Numerous Nods

“Sex” Also Nab Numerous Nods

by Eugene Hernandez

Paul Schrader’s “Affliction” was the top nominee for the14th Annual
Independent Spirit Awards which will be presented on Saturday, March
20th in Santa Monica, CA. 159 films were submitted for consideration
for the 1999 ceremony. “High Art“, “Gods and Monsters“, and “The
Opposite of Sex
” were also rewarded with a numerous nominations.

Eligibility for the Spirit Awards, which are voted upon bythe IFP
membership, is contingent upon a commercial theater screening during
the calendar year of 1998, a screening at one of six top film festivals and
the following four criteria: 1) original, provocative subject matter;
2) uniqueness of vision; 3) economy of means with particular attention
paid to total budget and individual compensation; and, 4) percentage of
independent financing. The nominees were selected by an 11-person
nominating committee.

The complete list of Spirit Award Nominees Follows:

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer)

— “Affliction,” Producer: Linda Reisman

— “Claire Dolan,” Producer: Ann Ruark

— “Gods and Monsters,” Producers: Paul Colichman, Gregg Fienberg,
& Mark R. Harris

— “Velvet Goldmine,” Producer: Christine Vachon

— “A Soldier’s Daughter Never Cries,” Producer: Ismail Merchant

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the Director & Producer)

— “Buffalo ’66,” Director: Vincent Gallo & Producer: Chris Hanley

— “High Art,” Director: Lisa Cholodenko & Producers: Dolly Hall,
Jeff Levy-Hinte, & Susan A. Stover

— “The Opposite of Sex,” Director: Don Roos & Producers: David
Kirkpatrick & Michael Besman

— “Pi,” Director: Darren Aronofsky & Producer: Eric Watson

— “Slums of Beverly Hills,” Director: Tamara Jenkins & Producers:
Michael Nozik & Stan Wlodkowski


Wes Anderson, “Rushmore”

Todd Haynes, “Velvet Goldmine”

Lodge Kerrigan, “Claire Dolan”

Paul Schrader, “Affliction”

Todd Solondz, “Happiness”

BEST DEBUT PERFORMANCE (Actors making their first appearance
in a feature film)

Evan Adams, “Smoke Signals”

Anthony Roth Costanzo, “A Soldier’s Daughter Never Cries”

Andrea Hart, “Miss Monday”

Sonja Sohn, “Slam”

Saul Williams, “Slam”


Katrin Cartlidge, “Claire Dolan”

Christina Ricci, “The Opposite of Sex”

Ally Sheedy, “High Art”

Robin Tunney, “Niagara, Niagara”

Alfre Woodard, “Down In The Delta”


Stockard Channing, “The Baby Dance”

Patricia Clarkson, “High Art”

Lisa Kudrow, “The Opposite of Sex”

Lynn Redgrave, “Gods and Monsters”

Joely Richardson, “Under Heaven”


Dylan Baker, “Happiness”

Ian McKellen, “Gods and Monsters”

Nick Nolte, “Affliction”

Sean Penn, “Hurlyburly”

Courtney B. Vance, “Blind Faith”


James Coburn, “Affliction”

Charles S. Dutton, “Blind Faith”

Gary Farmer, “Smoke Signals”

Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Happiness”

Bill Murray, “Rushmore”


Bill Condon, “Gods and Monsters”

David Mamet, “The Spanish Prisoner”

Frank Military, “Blind Faith”

Don Roos, “The Opposite of Sex”

Paul Schrader, “Affliction”


Darren Aronofsky, “Pi”

Sherman Alexie, “Smoke Signals”

Lisa Cholodenko, “High Art”

Tamara Jenkins, “Slums of Beverly Hills”

Matthew Weiss, “Niagara, Niagara”


Maryse Alberti, “Velvet Goldmine”

Matthew Libatique, “Pi”

Tami Reiker, “High Art”

Paul Sarossy, “Affliction”

Malik Sayeed, “Belly”

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the Director)

— “The Celebration” (Festen) (Denmark), Director: Thomas Vinterberg

— “The Eel” (Unagi) (Japan), Director: Shohei Imamura

— “The General” (Ireland), Director: John Boorman

— “Central Station” (Brazil), Director: Walter Salles

— “Fireworks” (Hana-Bi) (Japan), Director: Takeshi Kitano

Ralph Lauren Producers Award Finalists

Margot Bridger – producer of “Arresting Gena”, and “The Delta”

Gill Holland – producer of “Hurricane Streets”, and “Spring Forward”

Andrea Sperling – producer of “Nowhere”, and “Doom Generation”

Susan Stover – producer of “Work”, “The Sticky Fingers of Time”, and
“High Art”

Truer Than Fiction Award Finalists

Vicky Funari, for “Paulina”

Tim Kirkman, for “Dear Jesse”

Julia Loktev, for “Moment of Impact”

Barbara Sonneborn, for “Regret to Inform”

Kyra Thompson, for “Dying to Tell the Story”

Movado Someone to Watch Award Finalists

Tony Barbieri, director of “One”

Lynn Herschman Leeson, director of “Conceiving Ada”

Eric Tretbar, director of “Snow”

David Williams, director of “13”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox