Back to IndieWire

DAILY BRIEFS: IFP’s Script Conference; Winstar Re-Names Units; Cleveland Winners

DAILY BRIEFS: IFP's Script Conference; Winstar Re-Names Units; Cleveland Winners

by Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>> IFP’s Script to Screen Offering De Fina, Anders, and Many Many More

IFP’s eighth annual “From Script to Screen Conference” is slated for this
weekend (April 9 – 11) at the Fashion Institute of Technology in Manhattan
— the event is the organization’s second largest event after the annual

Featured programs include a Master Class with producer Barbara De Fina
(“Kundun,” “Casino,” “Kicked in the Head”). She will be interviewed by
“Kicked” director Matthew Harrison. While the conference will close with a
special session with filmmaker Alison Anders (“Sugar Town” “Mi Vida Loca”).

Also on tap is a preview screening of Lisanne and Tristine Skyler’s
“Getting to Know You,” which premiered at the 1999 Sundance Film Festival
— the showing will be followed by a Q & A session with the film’s actors
and producers. Other participants in the 1999 conference include:
GreeneStreet Films producer John Penotti, Sunshine’s Jed Alpert, filmmakers
Brad Anderson and Tony Bui, Miramax’s Jack Lechner, script readers (and
indieWIRE writers) Kevin Dreyfuss and Amy Veltman, Attorney and film rep
Steven Beer, Sloss Law’s Paul Brennan, and producers Good Machine’s Anthony
Bregman and Mary Jane Skalski, Eva Kolodner from Killer Films, John Hart
(Hart/Sharp), and Gill Holland (CineBlast!).

[For more information, visit the IFP website at:
, or call 212/465-8200>.]

>> Fox Lorber, Non Fiction Films and Wellspring Become Winstar TV & Video

WinStar New Media Company, Inc. has consolidated its TV and video
businesses — Fox Lorber Associates, Non Fiction Films and Wellspring Media
— into the newly named WinStar TV & Video. WinStar New Media President
Stuart Rekant announced that Richard Lorber has been named Co-Chairman and
Al Cattabiani has been named President of WinStar TV & Video. Mindy Rosenthal
has been named COO of the company.

The company produces movies and other programs for video, TV, online and
theatrical venues, its library includes such acclaimed films as “My Dinner
with Andre,” “Z,” and “The Umbrellas of Cherbourg,” along with movies by
Francois Truffaut, Lina Wertmuller, and Akira Kurosawa.

>> Frieda Lee Mock Doc Wins Top Cleveland Fest Prize

The 23rd Cleveland International Film Festival awarded its Roxanne T.
Mueller Award for Best Film to Frieda Lee Mock’s documentary, “Return With
Honor.” The festival which wrapped up last week, increased its attendance
by 10%, reaching the 35,000 attendee mark. The Festival’s “Best American
Independent Feature Film” award went to Kieran Turner’s “24 Nights”, while
the Georgia Mae Campbell Award was given to Joel Hopkin’s “Jorge.”

Julie Blumberg’s “Between Girls” won the award for Best Women’s Short,
while Terri Randall’s “Daughter of the Bride” won for Best Documentary
Short and Adam, Jordan and Scott Fields won the Best Ohio Short Film award
for “Script Doctor.” The award for Best Student Short went to Stuart
Acher’s “Bobby Loves Mangos,” and the Best Narrative Prize went to Henry
Barrial’s “The Lonelys.”

[For more information, visit the festival website at:

SUBMIT A BRIEF suggestion by email, or to the office at:


110 W. 57th St.

New York, NY 10019

Phone 212/581-7642

Fax 212/581-1857.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged