You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: IDA Nominees, Nicholl Fellowship Finalists; Slamdance Screenwriters

DAILY NEWS: IDA Nominees, Nicholl Fellowship Finalists; Slamdance Screenwriters

DAILY NEWS: IDA Nominees, Nicholl Fellowship Finalists; Slamdance

by Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>> IDA Names 28 Distinguished Documentary Award Nominees

The International Documentary Association (IDA) has announced the
twenty-eight nominees for its 1999 IDA Distinguished Documentary
Association Awards, to be presented at the 15th annual awards gala in Los
Angeles on October 29th. Awards will be presented in four categories:
feature length, shorts, limited series, and strand (a single program in an
on-going series).

In the feature category, the nominees are: “The Valley,” produced and
directed by Dan Reed; “The Murder of JFK: A Revisionist History,” produced
by Matthew White and Waleed B. Ali; “On the Ropes,” produced and directed
by Nanette Burstein and Brett Morgen; “Highway,” produced by Chantal
Bernheim; “The Brunner File – Story of a Mass Murderer,” produced by
Hessischer Rundfunk; “Mountain Rivals,” produced and directed by Rob
Harrison-White; “A Place Called Chiapas,” produced by Nettie Wild (also
directed), Betsy Carson, and Kirk Tougas; “Where the Sky Meets the Land,”
produced and directed by Frank Muller; “September 11, 1973: The Last Stand
of Salvador Allende
,” produced by Raymonde Provencher and Robert
Cornellier; “A Calcutta Christmas,” produced by Denise Haslem, Sharon
Connolly and Megan McMurchy; “Emily’s Eyes,” produced and directed by
Jessica Douglas-Henry and “Thug Life in D.C.,” produced by Marc Levin (also
directed) and Daphne Pinkerson.

In the shorts category, the nominees are: “Black Mesa,” produced by Robert
Wyatt (also directed) and Ashley Rogers; “One Divided by Two,” produced and
directed by Joyce Borenstein; “Still Missing,” produced and directed by
Theresa Tollini; “Made In Thailand,” produced and co-directed by Eve-Laure
Moros; and “Come Unto Me: The Faces of Tyree Guyton,” produced and directed
by Nicole Cattell.

The limited series nominees are: “Chaos and Kings,” produced and directed
by John Gwyn (John Gwyn Productions/Discovery/La Cinquieme); “Beyond the
,” produced by Hilton Kauffman (TVE Brasil); “Ancient Inventions,”
produced by David Sauden, Amanda Wilkie, Phil Grabsky and Tomi Bednar
Landis (Discovery/Seventh Art Productions); “Intimate Universe: The Human
,” produced by Sandra Gregory and Richard Dale (TLC/BBC Science Unit);
and “Insectia,” produced by Mary Armstrong and Florence Hamel
(Pixcom/Cineteve/La Cinquieme).

The nominees in the strand category are: “Fight Like A Girl,” produced by
Lisa Wood Shapiro and Steven Rosenbaum (Broadcast News Networks for Inside
Story Special: A&E); “Lost at Sea: The Search for Longitude,” produced by
David R. Axelrod and Paula S. Apsell (Green Umbrella LLC for NOVA: WGBH);
Leonard Bernstein: Reaching for the Note,” produced by Susan Lacy (also
directed) and Margaret Smilow (American Masters: Thirteen/WNET); “The
Dragons of Galapagos
,” produced by David Parer (also directed), Elizabeth
Parer-Cook and Nicolas Noxon (National Geographic Specials); “The Ecology
of David Suzuki
,” produced by Caroline Underwood (also directed) and
Michael Allder (Up Close and Personal: CBC) and “Heroes of the High
,” produced by Tim Scoones (also directed) and Nicolas Noxon
(National Geographic TV).

>> Academy Names 10 Nicholl Fellowship Finalists

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Academy Foundation
has announced the ten finalists for the 1999 Don and Gee Nicholl
Screenwriting Fellowships
. The ten writers and their screenplays were
selected from among the 4,150 entries received. They are: Chris E.
(“Harvest”), Quentin B. Cline (“Shepherds of War”), Thomas J.
(“The Beginning of Wisdom”), Phyllis E. MacBryde (“Zinzi”), Denise P.
(“Heir Apparent”), Annmarie E. Morais (“Bleeding”), Jaime D.
(“Last Meals”), Rebecca A. Sonnenshine (“Mermaid Dreams”), Ian M.
(“Destiny”), Christine R. Sugiyama (“Kozakana”).

The Fellowship, which is open to writers who have not sold or optioned a
screenplay for more than $5,000, will be awarded to as many as 5 writers in
the amount $25,000 on the condition that they complete a screenplay in the
next year.

The fellowship has a number of notable past recipients, including Allison
Anders (“Sugar Town”), Ehren Kruger (“Arlington Road”), Andrew Marlowe
(“End of Days”), Susannah Grant (“Ever After: A Cinderella Story”), Myron
Goble (“Down in the Delta”), Mark Lowenthal (“Where the Elephant Sits”),
Radha Bharadwaj (“Closet Land”), Raymond De Felitta (“Cafe Society”), Max
Adams (“Excess Baggage”), Randall McCormick (“Speed 2”), and Jim McGlynn

>> Slamdance Announces Screenwriting Competition Winner

The Slamdance Film Festival has named the three top award winners for its
4th screenplay competition. Selected from more than 1,500 entries, the top
prize winner is “Retro” by Livia Linden and Percy Angress, described as “a
comic mystery about a wise-cracking shamus from the 40’s who wakes up in
the present and tries to solve his own murder.” Second place has been
awarded to Michael Stark‘s “The Beekeeper’s Tango” and third place went to
The Rape of Marta Alastor” by Brent Studler. The top three award winners
will receive cash prizes. Slamdance also singled out three scripts with
awards for excellence, “Morning Cloak” by Agnieshka Jane, “Neo Ned” by
Timothy W. Boughn and “The Stickup Artist” by Jon Reed & Ethan Minsker.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox