Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: Film Fest Grants; IFFCON 2000 Producers; Taos Screenplay Winner

DAILY NEWS: Film Fest Grants; IFFCON 2000 Producers; Taos Screenplay Winner

DAILY NEWS: Film Fest Grants; IFFCON 2000 Producers; Taos Screenplay Winner

by Eugene Hernandez and Maya Churi

>> 11 Film Festivals to Receive $245,000 from AMPAS

(indieWIRE/12.8.99) — A total of 11 domestic film festivals will receive
245,000 from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences‘ (AMPAS) Academy
Foundation for their 2000 events.

The AFI Los Angeles, Chicago Latino, Fort Lauderdale, Mill Valley, San Francisco,
and Seattle Film Festivals all received $30,000, while the San Francisco Jewish, South by Southwest, and USA Film Festivals all received $15,000. Finally, the
Santa Clarita International Film Festival and the Thomas Edison Black Maria
Film & Video Festival

According to AMPAS, in a prepared statement, “The Academy is partial to supporting
programs that make festival events more accessible to the general public, those
that give screening access to minority and less visible filmmakers and those
that bring the public into contact with films
and filmmakers.” [Eugene Hernandez]

[For more information, contact AMPAS Grants Program Coordinator Greg Beal
at (310) 247-3000.]

>>IFFCON 2000 Announces Selected Producers for Conference

(indieWIRE/12.8.99) — Organizers of IFFCON 2000 have announced the list of
producers invited to participate in next month’s event. Among the producers
and their projects selected for IFFCON 2000 are Helena Cynamon with “The
Concubine’s Children
” chronicling the lives of three generations of a
woman sold to a stranger; Chris Zimmer with “Human Amusements” a
satirical story of one families bout with fame; and Irene Turner with
Twist in The Wind” about a young Latino boy’s struggle with church,
family and sexual identity.

IFFCON is an intensive three-day conference encompassing seminars,
private meetings, special receptions and screenings that provide sixty
carefully selected producers with an opportunity to meet with financiers
in the hopes of getting their films made. This years conference will be
held January 13-16 in San Francisco.

Also attending will be Nina Menkes, who is set to direct “Heat Stroke
about the broken relationship between two sisters. The film will be
executive produced by Gus Van Sant and produced by Andrea Sperling.
Other attendees include Carlos Bolado with “Watershed” in which Native
Americans, blocking a highway to protest the damming of the Klammath
River, revisit the “Salmon War” they fought years before, and Bennett
will be taking his latest project “Grandmaster: A Portrait of
Bobby Fisher

Industry leaders attending next months conference include” Ted Hope of
Good Machine, Steven Raphael of USA Films, Nancy Abraham of
HBO/Cinemax, Paul Federbush of New Line Cinema/Fine Line Features, Matt
of Miramax Films, Joe Pichirallo of Fox Searchlight, Marcus Hu
of Strand Releasing, Caroline Kaplan of the Independent Film Channel,
Jacquie Lawrence of Channel 4 (U.K.), Christoph Jorg of ARTE and
Wouter Barendrecht of Hong Kong’s Fortissimo Film Sales. [Maya Churi]

[For further information on IFFCON visit their web site at:]

>> Taos Land & Film Screenplay Contest Announces Winner of 5 Acre Award.

(indieWIRE/12.8.99) — The winner of the 1999 Taos Land & Film Screenplay
has been announced. Buzz Nutley received the contests grand prize
of 5 acres of land for his original screenplay “Raw Talent.” Along with
the land, atop the Cerro Montoso filmmakers colony in Taos, New Mexico,
Nutley’s screenplay has been optioned by the Taos Land & Film Company. “Raw
Talent,” about a burned-out road comedian, was selected from ten
finalists which were judged by industry professionals including: Richard
(Executive Producer, “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas“), David
(Director of Development, King World Productions) and Chris
(Director, “Smoke Signals“).

The other 1999 screenplay finalists were: “Carmen Basilio! Basilio!” by
Lou Buttino; “Clubs” by John Hanna; “Finding David” by Chrisine G.
; “God Don’t Like Ugly” by Jiovanni Iacoviello; “Limbs” by Danika
D. Dinsmore
; “Mojados” by Grant McCaw; “The Nevada Room” by Matt
; “The Passage” by Michael Raymond and “Ruthless” by Tim Sexton.

The Early Entry Deadline for the Third Annual Taos Land & Film
Screenplay Contest is January 15th, 2000. The final entry deadline is
February 28th, 2000. [Maya Churi]

[For more information call 505.758.7178 or visit their website at]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged