Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: Sundance Shorts; “American Beauty” Prize; Whitney Biennial

DAILY NEWS: Sundance Shorts; "American Beauty" Prize; Whitney Biennial

DAILY NEWS: Sundance Shorts; "American Beauty" Prize; Whitney Biennial

by Eugene Hernandez & Aaron Krach

>> 2000 Shorts Submitted for Sundance 2000; Programmers Select 65 for Festival

(indieWIRE/12.9.99) — The list of short films that will be screened at the
2000 Sundance Film Festival was unveiled yesterday, with programmers selecting
65 movies from the more than 2,000 entries — that’s over 300 more shorts than
the festival received for its 1999 edition. [Eugene Hernandez]

>>National Board Names “American Beauty” Top Film of 1999

(indieWIRE/12.9.99) — Sam Mendes‘ “American Beauty” has been named the best
movie of 1999 by the National Board of Review, a group of nationwide film
critics, students and teachers. In the Best Director category, Anthony
took the top prize for his upcoming Miramax film, “The Talented
Mr. Ripley
” and Kim Peirce was selected as Best Debut Director. John Irving
was selected as a winner for his screenplay for Lasse Hallstrom‘s “The Cider
House Rules
.” While Artisan‘s documentary, “The Buena Vista Social Club,”
was named the top doc of 1999.

Filmmakers who came from outside the Hollywood system dominated the National
Board’s list of the top ten films of 1999. Following “American Beauty” were
Minghella’s “The Talented Mr. Ripley,” Paul Thomas Anderson‘s “Magnolia,”
Michael Mann‘s “The Insider,” David Lynch‘s “The Straight Story,” Tim
The Cradle Will Rock,” Kim Peirce’s “Boys Don’t Cry,” Spike
‘s “Being John Malcovich,” Gavin O’Connor‘s “Tumbleweeds,” and David
‘s “Three Kings.” Breakthrough performances singled out were
Hilary Swank in “Boys Don’t Cry” and Wes Bentley in “American Beauty.”

In the foreign language film category, the Board named its top five (four of
which are Sony Pictures Classics releases): Pedro Almodovar‘s “All About My
” (Spain), Tom Tykwer‘s “Run Lola Run” (Germany), Regis Wargnier‘s
East-West” (France), and Goran Paskaljevic‘s “Cabaret Balkan” (Serbia)
and Chen Kaige‘s “The Emperor and the Assassin.”

Russell Crowe was selected as Best Actor, for his performance in Michael
Mann’s “The Insider,” while Janet McTeer was named Best Actress for her role
in Gavin O’Connor’s “Tumbleweeds,” which was picked up by Fine Line at this
year’s Sundance Film Festival. The Best Supporting Actor prize went to
Philip Seymour Hoffman for: “Magnolia,” “The Talented Mr. Ripley” and “An
Ideal Husband
,”‘ while Julianne Moore was named Best Supporting Actress for
A Map of The World,” “Cookie’s Fortune” and “Magnolia.” [Eugene Hernandez]

>> Whitney Museum Picks 27 Film/Video Makers for Upcoming Biennial

Several independent filmmakers, including Errol Morris, Craig Baldwin and
Harmony Korine, are among the 27 film & video makers chosen to screen
their work at the upcoming Whitney Biennial of American art in New York. The
prestigious exhibition opens March 23 and is the Whitney Museum’s attempt to
highlight the latest developments in American contemporary art. The
exhibition is usually met with enormous criticism, more for which artists
are not included than for those who actually are. This year, in an attempt to
avoid criticism for it’s usual New York-centricity, the filmmakers and
artists were chosen by six different curators from around the country. In
addition to screening their work at the Whitney Museum, the chosen
filmmakers will screen at each of the curators own institutions; including
the California College of Art and Crafts in San Francisco, the School of the
Art Institute, Chicago
and the Modern Art Museum in Fort Worth, Texas.

The film & video makers are, in alphabetical order: Craig Baldwin (San
Francisco), Rebecca Baron (New York), Rolf Belgum (Minneapolis), Sadie Benning
(Chicago), Robin Bernat (Atlanta), Jem Cohen (Brooklyn), Nathaniel Dorsky (San
Francisco) Theresa Duncan and Jeremy Blake (New York), Joe Gibbons (New York),
Jill Godmillow (South Bend, IN), T. Kim-Trang Tran (Los Angeles), Harmony
(New York), Ruth Leitman (Atlanta), Les LeVeque (New York), Sharon
(Los Angeles), Anne Makepeace (Santa Barbara, CA), Errol Morris
(Cambridge, MA), Mandy Morrison (Brooklyn), Nic Nicosia (Dallas), Walid Ra1ad
(Brooklyn), Jennifer Reeder (Chicago), �*ark (an American company), Elisabeth
(Boston), Chris Sullivan (Chicago), Ayanna U’Dongo (Oakland, CA), and
Yvonne Welbon (Chicago). [Aaron Krach]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged