Back to IndieWire

PARK CITY 2000 NEWS: “Dark Days” Wins Three Awards, “Girlfight” and “You Can Count on Me” Win Two;

PARK CITY 2000 NEWS: "Dark Days" Wins Three Awards, "Girlfight" and "You Can Count on Me" Win Two;

PARK CITY 2000 NEWS: "Dark Days" Wins Three Awards, "Girlfight" and "You Can Count on Me" Win Two; Women Dominate Feature Jury Prizes

by Eugene Hernandez / indieWIRE

(indieWIRE/1.30.2000) — Marc Singer’s documentary “Dark Days,” Karyn Kusama’sGirlfight,” and Kenneth Lonergan’sYou Can Count on Me” won multiple awards Saturday night as the 2000 Sundance Film Festival presented its annual prizes.

While Frances Reid and Deborah Hoffman’s, “Long Night’s Journey Into Day,” took the Documentary Grand Jury Prize, Singer’s documentary won the Audience Award and the Freedom of Expression Award and split the cinematography prize with Susan Todd and Andrew Young’sAmericanos: Latino Life in the United States.”

Kusama and Lonergan shared the Dramatic Grand Jury Prize, with Kusama also winning the dramatic directing prize and Lonergan winning the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award. The documentary directing award went to Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman for “Paragraph 175.”

The dramatic audience award went to Raymond DeFelitta’sTwo Family House” and the World Cinema audience prize was awarded to Nigel Cole’sSaving Grace.”

Tom Krueger won the dramatic cinematography award for his work on his sister’s film, “Committed,” while in other dramatic jury awards, Donal Logue won a special jury award for his outstanding performance in “The Tao of Steve” and the cast of Maggie Greenwald’sSongcatcher” (Janet McTeer, Aidan Quinn, Pat Carroll, Jane Adams, Gregory Cook, and Iris Dement) were presented with a special jury prize for ensemble performance.

The documentary jury presented two special jury prizes: Aiyana Elliott’sThe Ballad of Rambling Jack” won an award for artistic achievement and jury prize for writing for documentary was awarded to Daniel McCabe, Paul Stekler and Steve Fayer for “George Wallace: Settin’ the Woods on Fire.”

The Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking went to Peter Sollett’s narrative short, “Five Feet High and Rising,” while the jury presented honorable mention prizes to 9 shorts: Rolf Gibbs‘ “G,” Jonathan Bekemeier’sTitler,” Reynold Reynolds‘ and Patrick Jolley’sThe Drowning Room,” Hope Hall’sThis is for Betsy Hall,” Alexandra Kondracke’sIce Fishing,” Jennifer Todd Reeves and M. M. Serra’sDarling International,” Jodi Gibson’sFriday,” Bradley Rust Gray’shITCH,” and Jim Trainor’sThe Bats.”

The Latin American Jury split its jury prize between Luis Estrada’sHerod’s Law” and Arturo Ripstein’sNo One Writes to the Colonel,” while as previously announced, the Sundance/NHK awards went to Randy Redroad’sDoe Boy” (United States), Jyunichi Mori’sLaundry” (Japan), Dana Rothberg’sOtilia Rauda” (Latin America) and Carine Adler’sFinding Out” (Europe).

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox