You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: NYUFF and Santa Barbara Award Winners

DAILY NEWS: NYUFF and Santa Barbara Award Winners

DAILY NEWS: NYUFF and Santa Barbara Award Winners

By Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>>NYUFF Unveils 2000 Award Winners

(indieWIRE/3.14.2000) — The 2000 New York Underground Film Festival
concludes today in downtown Manhattan following repeat screenings of
festival films. On Sunday night, following the closing night world
premiere screening of Esther Bell‘s, “GodAss,” organizers announced
this year’s award-winners.

James Fotopoulos‘ world-premiere narrative “Migrating Forms” won the
award for Best Feature, while Jason Rosette‘s “Bookwars” won the
prize for Best Documentary. Chris Wilcha‘s “The Target Shoots First,”
fresh from a recent screening in Rotterdam, won the award for Best
Music Documentary.

Bell’s “GodAss” took the Festival Choice Award, while Xan Price‘s
Nitwit Predelick” won Best Short, Andrew Jeffrey Wright and
Claire E. Rojas‘ “The Manipulators” won Best Animation and the
Best Experimental prize was a tie between Matt McCormick‘s “The
Vyrontonin Decision
” and Stom Sogo‘s “Guided by Voices.”

>>2000 SBIFF Concludes with Awards

(indieWIRE/3.14.2000) — The 15th Santa Barbara International Film
concluded over the weekend following the closing night
screening of Carlos Avila‘s “Price of Glory” and the announcement
of the event’s award winners.

Louis Belanger‘s “Post Mortem” won the Independent Voice Award and
a special jury prize for artistic merit, while Regis Wargnier‘s
East/West” (Est-Ouest) won the Festival’s Audience Award.
Meanwhile, the World Prism Award for a feature-length foreign film
went to Jean-Pierre Ameris‘ “Bad Company” (Mauvaises Frequentations)
from France.

Two new awards were presented this year. The Insights Award for
Best Documentary went to James Ronald Whitney‘s “Just, Melvin,”
and the Human Rights Award was presented to Kevin McKiernan‘s
Good Kurds, Bad Kurds.”

In other awards, Amy Goldstein‘s “East of A” won the Burning Vision
Award for an emerging filmmaker, while Marco Bechis‘ “Garage Olimpo” won the Phoenix prize acknowledging outsider work. The Lumina
Award for Best Cinematography went to Javier Aguirresarobe for
his work on “The Girl of Your Dreams” (La Nina de tus Ojos) and
the award for Best Short went to Frederic Roullier-Gall‘s “Echo
from Belgium. The award for Best Animated Short went to Wendy
and Amanda Forbis“When the Day Breaks.

Finally, the first-place winner in the Peter Stark Screenwriting
competition was Jeff Jackson, for his screenplay “Bad Company.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged