Back to IndieWire

FESTIVALS: LAIFF Unveils 2000 Lineup of Fewer Stars and More Regional Work; Festival Decided to “Try

FESTIVALS: LAIFF Unveils 2000 Lineup of Fewer Stars and More Regional Work; Festival Decided to "Try

FESTIVALS: LAIFF Unveils 2000 Lineup of Fewer Stars and More Regional
Work; Festival Decided to "Try Something Different"

by Eugene Hernandez

(indieWIRE/3.8.2000) — Boasting a less star-driven lineup than in previous
years, the 2000 Los Angeles Independent Film Festival (LAIFF) is pursuing a
list of films from first and second time directors from outside the urban
filmmaking environments of Los Angeles and New York. The majority of the
LAIFF 2000 lineup is comprised of world premieres. 25 narrative features
and 7 documentary features make up the list — according to the festival, 25
of the feature screenings are world premieres. The movies were chosen from
more than 1,700 feature and short entries, up from a total of 1,500 last
year. [The complete lineup is available below.]

LAIFF 2000 will open on April 13th with the world premiere of Joe Mantegna‘s
Lakeboat,” which was written by David Mamet and stars Charles Durning,
Peter Falk, Robert Forster, Denis Leary, and George Wendt. The event will
close on April 18th with the world premiere of Thomas Bezucha‘s “Big Eden,”
starring Arye Gross, Louise Fletcher and Eric Schweig.

In a conversation with indieWIRE yesterday, LAIFF Programming Director
Thomas Ethan Harris explained that this year the festival made a concerted
effort to embrace regional work by emerging makers — films that are less
star-filled than in past festivals. “We wanted to move away from, in
particular, romantic comedies,” Harris said yesterday, “I am tired of the
genre-based American independent films.”

“We are really going to focus on another depiction of America,” Harris told
indieWIRE, “Something that feels really good and vibrant.” He continued,
“We’re gonna try something new — the strength and the exciting new work are
films that were regionally shot.” Among the states represented at LAIFF 2000
are Montana, Nebraska, Kansas, Texas, North Carolina, and Mississippi,
according to Harris.

When asked about the impact that the move to drop star films and focus on
new talent might have, Harris explained, “We are finding our place and
settling in — we’re going to try and we’ll see what happens.” He concluded,
“We have a pretty solid foundation. I think that its the right thing to do.”

The festival will announce the short lineup later this week and unveil
special screenings next week. As indicated earlier this week, The Los
Angeles Independent Film Festival is co-produced by the L. A. Film
and IFP/West. Tickets will go on sale March 15th.

[For more information on LAIFF, visit:]

Narrative Features:

A Texas Funeral,” written and directed by William Blake Herron
(North American Premiere)

Beat,” written and directed by Gary Walkow
(West Coast Premiere)

Broke Even,” directed by David Feldman, written by David Feldman & Carl
(World Premiere)

Bruno,” directed by Shirley MacLaine, written by Michael Ciminello
(World Premiere)

Bunny,” written and directed by Mia Trachinger
(World Premiere)

Citizen James,” directed by Doug E. Doug, written by Doug E. Doug and Guy
(World Premiere)

Cowboys and Angels,” written and directed by Gregory C. Haynes
(World Premiere)

First, Last and Deposit,” directed by Peter Hyoguchi, written by Peter
Hyoguchi & Duffy Hecht
(World Premiere)

George Washington,” written and directed by David Gordon Green
(North American Premiere)

I’ll Take You There,” written and directed by Adrienne Shelly
(West Coast Premiere)

Just One Time,” directed by Lane Janger, written by Lane Janger &
Jennifer Vandever
(U.S. Premiere)

Kill By Inches,” written and directed by Arthur Flam and Diane
(U.S. Premiere)

King of the Jungle,” written and directed by Seth Zvi Rosenthal
(World Premiere)

Maryam,” written and directed by Ramin Serry
(World Premiere)

Red Dirt,” written and directed by Tag Purvis
(World Premiere)

Roads and Bridges,” written and directed by Abraham Lim
(World Premiere)

Seed,” written and directed by Bobby Sheehan
(World Premiere)

Straight Right,” directed by P. David Ebersole, written by P. David Ebersole
Brent Smith
(World Premiere)

Straightman,” directed by Ben Berkowitz, written by Ben Berkowitz &
Ben Redgrave
(World Premiere)

The Last Man,” written and directed by Harry Ralston (Midnight Movie)

The Magic of Marciano,” written and directed by Tony Barbieri
(World Premiere)

The Photographer,” written and directed by Jeremy Stein
(World Premiere)

The St. Francisville Experiment,” produced by Dana Scanlan
(World Premiere)

The Young Girl And The Monsoon,” written and directed by James Ryan
(World Premiere)

What Happened To Tully,” directed by Hilary Birmingham, written by Matt Drake
& Hilary Birmingham
(World Premiere)

Documentary Features:

Always A Bridesmaid,” written and directed by Nina Davenport
(World Premiere)

Amargosa,” written and directed by Todd Robinson
(West Coast Premiere)

Bounce: Behind The Velvet Rope,” directed by Steven Cantor
(World Premiere)

Fighter,” directed by Amir Bar-Lev
(World Premiere)

Freestyle, ” directed by Kevin Fitzgerald
(World Premiere)

Keep The River On Your Right: A Modern Cannibal Tale,” written and
directed by David Shapiro & Laurie Gwen Shapiro
(World Premiere)

W.I.S.O.R.,” directed by Michel Negroponte, Written by Gabriel Morgan
(World Premiere – Work-in-Progress)


2 (divided by) 3,” by Richard Press; “$30,” by Gregory Cooke; “ Allerd Fishbein’s in Love,” by Danny Greenfield; “Babie,” by Jonathan Michaels; “Big Wheel,” by Jeff Taupier; “Billy’s Balloon,” by Don Hertzfeldt; “City Below the Line,” by Milton Moses Ginsberg; “Confederation Park,” by Bill Brown; “Crabgrass Manifesto,” by Aldo Velasco; “Das Clown,” by Tom E. Brown; “Dizzy,” by Andrew Hull; “Dog Days,” by Ellie Lee; “Don’t Think Twice,” by Sarah Polley; “Double A,” by Sarah Bassine; “George Lucas in Love,” by Joe Nussbaum; “Grind,” by Greg Eliason; “hitch,” by Brad Gray; “Ice Fishing,” by Alex Kondracke; “In God We Trust,” by Jason Reitman; “King of the Jews,” by Jay Rosenblatt; “Let Me Tell You a Story,” by Marlene Rhein; “Luz,” by Jose Javier Martinez; “Matt in Love,” by Adam Kleid; “Mum,” by Nicholas Peterson; “Ocean Avenue,” by Shari Rothfarb; “One Soldier,” by Steven Wright; “Pop Tarts,” by Andre Hereford; “Pump,” by Abigail Severance; “Reinvention,” by Sadia Shepard; “Restricted,” by Jay Rosenblatt; “Rolling Man,” by Mike Sakamoto; “…sleeping dogs lie,” by Joseph Moran; “Spiral,” by Floria Sigismondi; “Swap Meet,” by David Schweizer; “Thaw,” by Jeff Orgill; “Bottomless Cup,” by Paul Bonner; “The Drowning Room,” by Reynold Reynolds and Patrick Jolley; “The Indescribable Nth,” by Oscar Moore; “The King of the Magicians,” by Paul Malmont; “The Offering,” by Paul Lee; “This Close to Nothing,” by Scott Saunders; “This Guy is Falling,” by Mike Horowitz and Gareth Smith; “This is for Betsy Hall,” by Hope Hall; “Without a Name,” by Liesel de Boor; “Yaddie & Dah,” by Arlene Hazzan Green

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged