Back to IndieWire

PARK CITY 2001 NEWS: Sundance 2001 Winners

PARK CITY 2001 NEWS: Sundance 2001 Winners

PARK CITY 2001 NEWS: Sundance 2001 Winners

by Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>> “Hedwig” Wins Two Top Dramatic Prizes, “Dogtown” and “Honor” Big Doc Winners

(indieWIRE/01.28.01) — “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” was the big winner in
the dramatic section of the 2001 Sundance Film Festival, taking the Dramatic
Audience Award while writer, director and star John Cameron Mitchell won the
Dramatic Directing Award. Henry Bean‘s “The Believer” won the Dramatic Grand Jury Prize, while in the Documentary Competition, Kate Davis‘ “Southern Comfort” won the top Jury Award.

The Documentary Audience Award was split between Documentary Directing Award
winner Stacy Peralta‘s “Dogtown and Z-Boys” and Tom Shepard‘s “Scouts Honor,” which also won the Freedom of Expression Award.

The Audience Award for the Festival’s World Cinema section went to Zhang
‘s “The Road Home.”

The Short Jury presented its top prize to Paul Harrill for “Gina, An
Actress, Age 29

In the Dramatic Competition, Christopher Nolan was honored with the Waldo
Salt Screenwriting Award for his “Memento” screenplay, an adaptation of his
brother Jonathan Nolan‘s short story.

“Hedwig,” a Killer Films movie produced by Christine Vachon, Katie Roumel & Pamela Koffler, was a hit in Park City, receiving standing ovations at its Festival screenings. The Fine Line Features film, adapted by John Cameron Mitchell with music by Stephen Trask, is the movie version of the popular Off-Broadway play.

Stacy Peralta‘s skateboarding doc, “Dogtown and Z-Boys,” is an insiders look at the phenomenon, coming from one of the original Santa Monica “Zephyr
,” a skate group made up of kids from broken homes. It was narrated by
Sean Penn. While “Scouts Honor” is doc-maker Tom Shepard’s examination of
the struggle over the antigay policies of the Boy Scouts of America. It was
produced in association with ITVS.

Henry Bean‘s “The Believer,” starring a noteworthy lead performance by actor Ryan Gosling, explores the life of Danny Balint, transformed from a
religious student to an emerging member of a neofascist movement.

Documentarian Kate Davis‘ “Southern Comfort” explores the last year in the life of a Southern transsexual dying from ovarian cancer. It will open next
month at Film Forum in New York before hitting other screens around the
country, it is also tapped to air on HBO.

Other prizes were announced at the Sundance awards ceremony, including
special jury prizes and international awards. [Eugene Hernandez]

The Winners of the 2001 Sundance Film Festival are:

Documentary Grand Jury Prize:Southern Comfort,” directed and produced by Kate Davis.

Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: The Believer,” directed by Henry Bean and produced by Chris Roberts & Susan Hoffman.

Documentary Audience Award (tie):Dogtown and Z-Boys,” directed by Stacy Peralta and produced by Agi Orsi and “Scouts Honor,” directed by and
produced by Tom Shepard.

Dramatic Audience Award:Hedwig and the Angry Inch,” directed by John Cameron Mitchell and produced by Christine Vachon, Katie Roumel & Pamela

World Cinema Audience Award:The Road Home,” directed by Zhang Yimou and produced by Zhao Uyu.

Documentary Directing Award: Stacy Peralta, director of “Dogtown and Z-Boys.”

Dramatic Directing Award: John Cameron Mitchell, director of “Hedwig and the Angry Inch.”

Excellence in Cinematography Award: Albert Maysles, cinematographer on “Lalee’s Kin: The Legacy of Cotton” from the Documentary Competition and Giles Nuttgens, cinematographer on “The Deep End” from the Dramatic Competition.

Freedom of Expression Award:Scout’s Honor,” directed and produced by Tom Shepard.

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Christopher Nolan, screenwriter of “Memento” (based on the short story by Jonathan Nolan).

Special Jury Prize — Dramatic Jury: Tom Wilkinson & Sissy Spacek for “In The Bedroom.”

Special Jury Prize — Documentary Jury:Children Underground,” directed and produced by Edet Belzberg.

Jury Prize in Latin American Cinema (tie):Possible Loves,” directed and produced by Sandra Werneck and “Without a Trace,” written and directed by Maria Navaro.

Special Jury Mention — Latin American Jury:Coffin Joe: The Strange World of José Mojica Marins,” directed by André Barcinski & Ivan Finotti.

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:Gina, An Actress, Age 29,” directed by Paul Harrill

Honorable Mentions in Short Filmmaking — Shorts Jury:Delusions in Modern Primitivism,” directed by Daniel Loflin; “Jigsaw Venus,” directed by Dean Kapsalis; “Metropopular,” directed by Jonah Hall; “Peter Rabbit and the
,” directed by Amthony Dominici; “Pie Fight ’69,” directed by
Christian Bruno & Sam Green, “Sweet,” directed by Elyse Couvillion; and “Zen
and the Art of Landscaping
,” directed by David Kartch

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Award: Michael Burke, “The Mudge Boy” (United States); Daniel Burman, “Every Stewardess Goes to Heaven” (Latin America); Fatima Jebli-Ouazzani, “Halima’s Paradise” (Europe); and Hidenori Sugimori, “Woman of Water” (Japan)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox