Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: New Fest Sets Bookends; and Moodysson Wins Taos Land

DAILY NEWS: New Fest Sets Bookends; and Moodysson Wins Taos Land

DAILY NEWS: New Fest Sets Bookends; and Moodysson Wins Taos Land

by Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>> New Fest Set with “Hedwig” and Seidelman’s Latest

(indieWIRE/04.09.01) — The New Festival, New York’s Lesbian & Gay Film
Festival, has announced the films that will bookend their 13th annual event.
Opening the festival on May 31st will be John Cameron Mitchell‘s “Hedwig and
the Angry Inch
,” while Susan Seidelman‘s “Gaudi Afternoon” will close the fest on June 10th.

“Hedwig,” which had its world premiere at Sundance earlier this year, was
produced by Killer Films and will be released by Fine Line in July. The
movie is the big screen adaptation of the Off-Broadway musical, with
Mitchell reprising the title role and joined by composer and lyricist
Stephen Trask. The film won the audience award at Sundance as well as the
directing prize for Mitchell, while in Berlin the film received the Teddy
Award for best queer film.

Seidelman’s “Afternoon” was produced by LolaFilms and is set in Barcelona.
The movie stars Judy Davis, Marcia Gay Harden, Lili Taylor and Juliette Lewis. [Eugene Hernandez]

>> Moodysson Takes Toas Land Prize

(indieWIRE/04.09.01) — Lukas Moodysson‘s won this year’s Taos Land Grant
Award at the annual Taos Talking Pictures Festival. Recognized for his new
feature, “Together,” Moodyson will receive five acres of land on Cerro
Montoso, which is outside of Taos. Vikki Blanche‘s short film, “The Other
Days of Ruby Rae
,” won festival’s George Milos Award and Randy Redroad‘s
The Doe Boy,” won the previously announced Bubbling Under prize for a
first-time filmmaker.

“It is a thrill to recognize these three exceptional filmmakers,” commented
Taos Talking Pictures artistic director Jason Silverman in a prepared
statement. “The range of work that the jurors chose from indicates the
richness and diversity of the contemporary cinema.”

Previous recipients of the Toas Land Grant award include Constance Marks for “Green Chimneys,” Chris Eyre for “Smoke Signals,” Daniel Yoon for “Post Concussion” and David Riker for “La Ciudad.” [Eugene Hernandez]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox