Back to IndieWire

DAILY NEWS: Chicago Fest Winners and IDA Nominees

DAILY NEWS: Chicago Fest Winners and IDA Nominees

DAILY NEWS: Chicago Fest Winners and IDA Nominees

by Eugene Hernandez/indieWIRE

>> “Madame Sata” Wins Top Prize at Chicago International Film Festival

(indieWIRE: 10.17.02) — Karim Ainouz‘s “Madame Sata” won the top prize, the Golden Hugo, at the 2002 Chicago International Film Festival. The event concluded over the weekend in Illinois, presenting the Silver Hugo special
jury prize to Elia Suleiman for “Divine Intervention.” The Silver Hugo for
best director went to Andreass Dresen for “Grill Point” (Halbe Treppe). The cast from the German film (Steffi Kuehnert, Thorsten Merten, Axel Prahl, and Gabriela Maria Schmeide) received a Silver Hugo for their ensemble work.

Rob Fruchtman and Rebecca Cammisa‘s “Sister Helen” won the Gold Hugo in the festival’s documentary competition for their film, “Sister Helen.” The
Silver Hugo went to Kaoru Ikeya for “Daughter from Yan’An.” In the short
film competition, the Gold Hugo for best narrative short went to Reza
‘s “Meeting Evil” and the Gold Hugo for short narrative film over 15
minutes was awarded to Brin Hill‘s “Morning Breath.” Jesse Rosensweet‘s “The Stone of Folly” won the Gold Hugo for animated short. [Eugene Hernandez]

>> IDA Announces 2002 Doc Nominees

(indieWIRE: 10.17.02) — Thirty-four documentary films have been nominated
for the International Documentary Association‘s (IDA) annual Distinguished
Documentary Achievement Awards competition. Winners will be announced on
December 13 in Los Angeles.

Nominated in the feature length category are Shelley Saywell‘s “A Child’s
Century of War
,” Lee Hirsch‘s “Amandla! A Revolution in Four Part Harmony,” Daniel Gold and Judith Helfand‘s “Blue Vinyl,” Marlo Poras‘ “Mai’s America,” Lourdes Portillo‘s “Senorita Extraviada,” Rebecca Cammisa and Rob Fruchtman‘s “Sister Helen,” Jay Blumenfield‘s “Small Town Ecstasy,” Jeff Blitz‘s “Spellbound,” John S. Friedman and Eric Nadler‘s “Stealing the
,” and Mark Moskowitz‘s “Stone Reader.”

Short film nominees include John Murphy‘s “At Journey’s Edge,” Peter
‘s “The Internationale,” Erin Flannery‘s “Judy’s Time,” Karen Goodman and Kirk Simon‘s “Smashed,” and Tim DePaepe‘s “Shades of Gray.”

Documentary filmmaker Ken Burns will be presented with the career
achievement award at this year’s benefit gala awards program. Filmmaker
Agnes Varda (“The Gleaners & I“) will receive the IDA Pioneer Award.
[Eugene Hernandez]

[For more information, please visit:

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox