Back to IndieWire

“Extrano,” “Jealousy,” and “Lilya” Win 32nd Rotterdam Tiger Awards

"Extrano," "Jealousy," and "Lilya" Win 32nd Rotterdam Tiger Awards

“Extrano,” “Jealousy,” and “Lilya” Win 32nd Rotterdam Tiger Awards

by Eugene Hernandez

The official poster of the International Film Festival Rotterdam

Courtesy of International Film Festival Rotterdam

Three films shared Tiger Awards at the 32nd International Film Festival Rotterdam in The Netherlands; prizes were presented Friday night at the Festival. Winning the three equal VPRO Tiger Awards were Santiago Loza’s “Extrano” from Argentina, Park Chan-Ok’s “Jiltoo-Neun Na-E Him” (Jealousy is My Middle Name) from South Korea and Larisa Sadilova’s “S Ljubov’ Ju” (With Love. Lilya) from Russia.

Each Tiger Award, presented to a first or second-time filmmaker, carries a €10,000 award as well as a broadcast on VPRO and a guaranteed Dutch art house distribution. Fourteen films competed in the 2003 IFFR competition.

Jurors included former director of the Venice Film Festival Alberto Barbera, filmmaker Mahamat Saleh from Chad, Thai producer Duangkamol Limcharoen, filmmaker Olivier Assayas from France, and sales agent Christina Saredi from Switzerland.

“Extrano” was selected, in the words of the jury, for being “a confident and mature debut that takes a bold risk, inventing its own visual language to describe the outer and inner world of a man who has become a stranger to life.” “Jealousy Is My Middle Name” was hailed for being “an ambitious film about human relations, written and directed with confidence and sensitivity, and supported by strong ensemble acting.” Finally, “With Love. Lilya” was honored for confirming “the remarkable talent of a new Russian filmmaker.” Continuing the jury said, “Set against an almost documentary background, the film depicts with humanity and humour and an outstanding performance by Marina Zubanova, the everyday struggle of an ordinary woman.”

The Prince Claus Fund Film Grant was awarded to Fanta Regina Nacro’s “La Nuit de La Verite” (The Revealing Night) on the closing night of the annual CineMart. The prize carries a €15,000 award. Jurors for this award included Emile Fallaux member of the Board of the Prince Claus Fund, producer Steven Markovitz, Buenos Aires International Film Festival director Eduardo Antin, and Dutch film critic Hans Beerekamp.

Andrew Cheng’s “Mu Di Di Shanghai” (Welcome to Destination Shanghai) from China was presented with the FIPRESCI Prize, with a special mention for Guy Maddin’s “Cowards Bend the Knee” from Canada. The Circle of Dutch Film Critics (KNF) awarded its prize to Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s “Sud Senaeha” (Blissfully Yours) from Thailand and the Movieaone youth jury award went to Dagur Kari’s “Noi Albinoi” (Noi The Albino) from Iceland.

Finally, the first Amnesty International Doen Award was presented to Manijeh Hekmat’s “Zendan-E Zanan” (Women’s Prison) from Iran. It received a €5,000 grant. The film had been supported by the IFFR’s Hubert Bals Fund. A special mention was awarded to Jose Padilha’s “Bus 174” from Brazil.

Popular on Indiewire

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox