Back to IndieWire

Editors, Cinematographers Give Out Annual Awards

Editors, Cinematographers Give Out Annual Awards

Editors, Cinematographers Give Out Annual Awards

by Wendy Mitchell

“Chicago,” edited by Martin Walsh, was a winner at the American Cinema Editors’ Eddie Awards.

© 2003 Miramax Films

The folks behind the camera are raking in some awards, with the American Cinema Editors and the American Society of Cinematographers handing out their yearly honors in recent days. At the ACE Eddie Awards on February 23, Martin Walsh won for “Chicago” in the best edited feature/comedy or musical category, while Thelma Schoonmaker won for “Gangs of New York” in the best edited feature/dramatic category. Kurt Engfehr won the award for best edited documentary for his work on Michael Moore’s “Bowling for Columbine.”

Gary Ross and Michael Kahn presented filmmaker Kathleen Kennedy with ACE’s Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year award. Lifetime achievement awards were given to John Burnett and Tom Rolf, while writer Michael Ondaatje received the Robert Wise award for his book “Conversations: Walter Murch and the Art of Editing.”

At the American Society of Cinematographers awards ceremony on February 16, the late Conrad Hall received top honors for “Road To Perdition.” His son Conrad W. Hall accepted the prize, which marked his father’s fourth time taking the top ASC honor. “Conrad Hall taking top honors four times in 17 years is a remarkable achievement,” said ASC President Richard Crudo in a prepared statement. “He was a great artist who blazed new trails that inspired many other filmmakers in every part of the world.”

Other nominees in the feature film category had been Michael Ballhaus for “The Gangs of New York,” Pawel Edelman for “The Pianist,” Ed Lachman for “Far From Heaven,” and Rodrigo Prieto for “Frida.”

In other ASC awards, Bill Paxton presented the lifetime achievement award to Bill Butler, who photographed Paxton’s 2002 film “Frailty.” The ASC also recognized a journalist for the first time when it gave Roger Ebert its special achievement award. The International Achievement Award was given to Poland’s Witold Sobocinski.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox