You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Rotterdam’s 2005 Tigers Set To Roar

Rotterdam's 2005 Tigers Set To Roar

Rotterdam’s 2005 Tigers Set To Roar

by Mark Rabinowitz

The 34th edition of the International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) has announced the lineup for its prestigious and lucrative VPRO Tiger Awards Competition, with 14 films set to roll when the fest kicks off on January 26th. Three winners will each receive 10,000 Euro and guaranteed Dutch television screening by IFFR’s main sponsor, Dutch public network VPRO. Winners will be announced during IFFR 2005’s awards ceremony on Friday, February 4th. Jury member this year will be photographer Nan Goldin (US), producer Jan Chapman (Australia), Lia van Leer, director of the Jerusalem Film Festival (Israel), filmmaker Bahman Ghobadi (Iran) and filmmaker Lisandro Alonso (Argentina).

Of the 14 films, four are world premieres, while 9 others are either international or European bows. Geographic diversity is a traditional hallmark of the IFFR and this year’s sections hail from 13 countries and feature Brazil/Paraguay and Vietnam/Germany co-productions, as well as films from Spain, Argentina, Italy, Malaysia, The Netherlands, Russia, Norway, Japan and South Korea.

The IFFR’s Hubert Bals Fund, a not-for-profit financing and training fund named after the festival’s founder and co-funder of 350 films since its 1988 beginnings supported two of this year’s slate, “O Amigo Dunor” (“Dunor My Friend”) by José Eduardo Alcazar and “4” by Ilya Khrzhanovsky, while another, Fow Pyng Hu‘s “Paradise Girls” was a 2002 Cinemart project. Additionally, “Paradise Girls,” along with Erik Poppe‘s “Hawaii, Oslo” and Daniele Gaglianone‘s “Nemmeno Il Destino” (“Changing Destiny”) have already secured Dutch distribution through 1morefilm, A-Film and Bright Angel Distribution, respectively.

The complete list of the films in competition is:

“O Amigo Dunor” (Dunor My Friend), directed by
José Eduardo Alcazar

(Brazil/Paraguay, 2005), world premiere.

“El Cielo Gira” (The Sky Turns), directed by Mercedes

(Spain, 2004), international premiere.

“Hat Mua Roi Bao Lauy” (Bride Of Silence), directed by
Doan Minh Phuong & Doan Thanh Nghia

(Vietnam/Germany, 2005), world premiere.

“Allein” (Alone), directed by Thomas Durchschlag

(Germany, 2004), international premiere.

“Onde” (Waves), directed by Francesco Fei

(Italy, 2005), world premiere.

“Las Mantenidas Sin Sueños” (Kept And Dreamless),
directed by Vera Fogwill & Martin Desalvo

(Argentina, 2005), world premiere.

“Nemmeno Il Destino” (Changing Destiny), directed by
Daniele Gaglianone

(Italy, 2004), international premiere.

“Sanctuary,” directed by Ho Yu-hang

(Malaysia, 2004), European premiere.

“Paradise Girls,” directed by Fow Pyng HU

(The Netherlands, 2004), European premiere.

“4,” directed by Ilya Khrzhanovsky

(Russia, 2004).

“Boginya: Kak Ya Polyubila” (Goddess), directed by
Renata Litvinova

(Russia, 2004), international premiere.

“Hawaii, Oslo,” directed by Erik Poppe

(Norway, 2004), European premiere.

“Aru Asa Soup Wa” (The Soup, One Morning), directed by
Takahashi Izumi

(Japan, 2003), European premiere.

“Frakchi” (Spying Cam), directed by Whang

(South Korea, 2004), European premiere.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox