Back to IndieWire

DISPATCH FROM AWARDS SEASON: “Sideways” and “Eternal Sunshine” Are Latest Guild Winners Nabbing Scri

DISPATCH FROM AWARDS SEASON: "Sideways" and "Eternal Sunshine" Are Latest Guild Winners Nabbing Scri

DISPATCH FROM AWARDS SEASON: “Sideways” and “Eternal Sunshine” Are Latest Guild Winners Nabbing Script Prizes

by Eugene Hernandez

Sandra Oh, Thomas Haden Church, Virginia Madsen and Paul Giamatti in Alexander Payne’s “Sideways.” Photo © Fox Searchlight Pictures.

It’s less than one week before the Academy Awards and the long awards season is nearing an end, but not before many people will have to make a few tough choices on their Oscar pool ballots. The safe bet? Jamie Foxx for “Ray,” even show host Chris Rock joked that if Foxx doesn’t win he’d grab the trophy for the actor. The tough choices typically fall in what some people unfortunately call “the lesser categories,” those being the prizes other than picture, director, and the acting awards. The choices of guilds and professional groups can offer some guidance.

In Los Angeles and New York on Saturday, the Writers Guild Awards honored Charlie Kaufman for his work on “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” in the original screenplay category. The film is based on a story by Kaufman, Michel Gondry and Pierre Bismuth. Meanwhile, in the adapted screenplay category, Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor were honored for “Sideways,” which is based on the novel by Rex Pickett.

Earlier last week the Writers Guild of America presented its first documentary prize to doc Oscar nominee Morgan Spurlock for his “Super Size Me.”

The American Cinema Editors honored a pair of films. Thelma Schoonmaker was singled out for her work on Martin Scorsese‘s “The Aviator” in the category for feature film editing of a dramatic film, while in the comedy or musical category, the guild honored Paul Hirsch for “Ray.”

The Costume Designers Guild also presented two prizes. Milena Canonero was honored in the contemporary film category for her work on “The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou,” while Colleen Atwood was awarded the prize in the period/fantasy category for “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.”

The American Society of Cinematographers honored Bruno Delbonnel for “A Very Long Engagement,” while the Art Directors Guild presented two awards. Alex McDowell was honored for “The Terminal” in the contemporary feature category and Rich Heinrichs was given an award for a period or fantasy film for “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.”

Oscar voters hoping to make their voice heard have just a few hours left to do so. Ballots for the 77th Annual Academy Awards are due today by 5 p.m.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged