Back to IndieWire

“Hooligans” and “Cowboy del Amor” Sweep Top SXSW ’05 Prizes

"Hooligans" and "Cowboy del Amor" Sweep Top SXSW '05 Prizes

“Hooligans” and “Cowboy del Amor” Sweep Top SXSW ’05 Prizes

by Eugene Hernandez

Lexi Alexander, director of “Hooligans” accepts one of her awards at SXSW. Photo by Brian Brooks/indieWIRE.

Lexi Alexander‘s “Hooligans,” starring Elijah Wood, Charlie Hunnam, Claire Forlani, Marc Warren, and Leo Gregory won both the narrative feature audience award and the narrative jury prize at the 2005 SXSW Film Festival, while Michele Ohayon‘s “Cowboy del Amor” was the winner of both the documentary audience award and the doc jury prize. At the SXSW film awards in Austin, TX Tuesday night, festival and conference producer Matt Dentler said that it was the first time that films won both jury and audience awards.

Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady‘s “The Boys of Baraka” was won the special jury prize from the documentary jury and was the runner-up in doc audience award balloting. Ian Gamazon and Neill Della Luna‘s “Cavite” won the special jury award from the narrative jury and Ben Rekhi‘s “Waterborne” was the runner-up for the narrative audience prize.

Jay and Mark Duplass“The Puffy Chair” was the winner of the audience award in the festival’s Emerging Visions section, while Marion Lipschutz and Rose Rosenblatt‘s “The Education of Shelby Knox” won the audience prize in the Lone Star States section of the festival. Arin Crumley and Susan Buice‘s “Four Eyed Monsters” and Ellen Spiro‘s “Troop 1500” were second in voting in each category respectively.

Michele Ohayon accepts one of her awards for “Cowboy del Amor.” Photo by Brian Brooks/indieWIRE.

In the Reel Shorts competition, jurors awarded the top prize to Keith Bearden‘s “The Raftman’s Razor,” while the special jury prize in the category went to Katja Straub‘s “All White People Are French.” In the animated short category, Hathan Jurevicius“Orpheus & the Underworld” won and Nadine Takvorian‘s “Elegy” received the special jury notice. Monkmus won the music video award for the video for “Year of the Rat” by Badly Drawn Boy and the special jury award winner was Ton Petrossian for the “Vermillion” video by Slipknot.

In Texas prizes, Paul Alvarado-Dykstra won the Texas Shorts award for “Termination” and Spencer Parsons won the special jury award for “Once and Future Asshole.” David McGinnis won the Texas High School competition award for “Comic Y” and the special jury award went to David Vass for “Life of a Pencil.”

[ indieWIRE’s SXSW Coverage continues @ . ]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged