You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

AMPAS Names 32nd annual Student Academy Awards Winners

AMPAS Names 32nd annual Student Academy Awards Winners

AMPAS Names 32nd annual Student Academy Awards Winners

by Brian Brooks

At the 32nd Annual Student Academy Awards on Sunday, Alonso Mayo (right) received the Gold Medal in the narrative category for “Wednesday Afternoon.” The award was presented by Oscar-winning cinematographer Caleb Deschanel. Image provided by AMPAS.

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences announced the winners of the 32nd annual Student Academy Awards competition, with 12 students from 11 colleges taking honors. Students took part in a week of industry-related activities and social events culminating with the awards presentation ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. One film student from Germany also was selected to receive this year’s “Honorary Foreign Film Student Award.”

The first Student Academy Awards took place December 20, 1973, in a ceremony hosted by Academy member Jack Lemmon at the Academy Award Theater on Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles. Lemmon contacted the winners by telephone, and the audience was able to hear the winners’ responses, and each winner won $1,000 in prize money. Among the Student Academy Award recipients who have gone on to achieve prominence as professional filmmakers are Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Bob Saget and John Lasseter, who is the only person to win the Gold Medal Student Academy Awards two years in a row (1979 and 1980). Lasseter went on to receive an Academy Award nomination in 1986 for “Luxo Jr.” and win the Oscar for his animated short film “Tin Toy” (1988).

The current crop of winners were presented with awards during a ceremony at the at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater on Sunday, June 12. Besides trophies, gold- medalists receive $5,000, silver-medalists are awarded $3,000 and bronze medal recipients are presented with $2,000.

The list of winners are:


Gold Medal: “Knock Knock,” Jaron Henrie-McCrea, Ball State University, Indiana

Silver Medal: “Your Dark Hair Ihsan,” Tala Hadid, Columbia University, New York City

(No Bronze Medal was awarded in this category this year.)


Gold Medal: “9,” Shane Acker, University of California, Los Angeles

Silver Medal: “Frog,” Christopher Conforti, School of Visual Arts, New York City

Bronze Medal: “Things That Go Bump in the Night,” Joshua G. Beveridge, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida


Gold Medal: “The Life of Kevin Carter,” Dan Krauss, University of California, Berkeley

Silver Medal: “Unhitched,” Erin Hudson and Ben Wu, Stanford University

Bronze Medal: “Listen,” Kimby Caplan, Southern Methodist University, Texas


Gold Medal: “Wednesday Afternoon,” Alonso F. Mayo, American Film Institute, Los Angeles

Silver Medal: “Victoria Para Chino,” Cary Fukunaga, New York University

Bronze Medal: “Charm,” Melissa Rossi, Florida State University Film School

Honorary Foreign Student Film Award

The Runaway,” Ulrike Grote, University of Hamburg

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Reviews and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox