You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang” to Open Hollywood Film Festival

"Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" to Open Hollywood Film Festival

Shane Black‘s “Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang” will open the ninth Hollywood Film Festival at Grauman’s Chinese Theater on October 18th, launching the event which will include ten world premieres. Starring Robert Downey Jr., Val Kilmer and Michelle Monaghan, the crime/thriller centers on a petty thief (Downey) posing as an actor who is brought to Los Angeles for an unlikely audition and finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation along with his high school love (Monaghan) and a detective (Kilmer) who’s been training him for his upcoming role.

The festival will also present five centerpiece premieres and a special screening. Lions Gate Films‘ drama “Fierce People,” by Griffin Dunne starring Diane Lane and Donald Sutherland will screen as well as Niki Caro‘s drama “North Country” starring Charlize Theron. The Starz documentary “Bullets Over Hollywood,” written and directed by Elaina Archer and featuring James Caan, Talia Shire, and Chazz Palminteri will screen October 20th. Mike Barker‘s romantic comedy “A Good Woman” starring Helen Hunt and Scarlett Johansson, will screen October 21, while Joe Eckardt‘s doc “Champion” featuring Danny Trejo, Dennis Hopper, Robert Rodriguez, and Val Kilmer about Trejo will screen October 22nd. Also screening is Arthur Allan Seidelman‘s ,”The Sisters” starring Maria Bello, Erika Christensen and Mary Stuart Masterson about siblings living in a college town who struggle with the death of their father and try to reconcile relationships in their own lives will screen at the ArcLight October 22nd, the main festival venue.

Among this year’s industry members who will be honored for their achievements at the festival’s “Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony” are Diane Keaton for career achievement, Lions Gate Films Releasing president Tom Ortenberg for leadership and Library of CongressDr. James Billington for film preservation. Also receiving accolades at the ceremony are Sam Mendes for directing, Douglas Wick and Lucy Fisher for producing, Joaquin Phoenix, Charlize Theron, Matthew Broderick, and Susan Sarandon for acting, the cast of “Crash” for ensemble acting, Akiva Goldsman for screenwriting, “Howl’s Moving Castle,” (director, Hayao Miyazaki), for animation, Pawel Edelman for cinematography and Walter Murch for editing. In addition, Jake Gyllenhaal and Rachel McAdams will be honored with the festival’s “Breakthrough Actor and Actress” awards, while Paul Haggis will receive the “Hollywood Breakthrough Director of the Year Award.”

[For more information and the full line up, visit the festival’s website.]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Features and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox