Back to IndieWire

New Board Members, New Prez, New Honor

New Board Members, New Prez, New Honor

I don’t know what else to say, other than I’m honored to be a part of this announcement and I just wanted to share it. Here’s an Austin Business Journal article from a recent annoucement by the Austin Film Society:

Film Society names board members, elects new president

The Austin Film Society (AFS), the 20-year-old nonprofit that supports creative filmmaking in Austin, has some noteworthy new board members. South by Southwest Film Conference and Festival Producer Matt Dentler and producer Jordan Levin recently joined the AFS board.

Additionally, entertainment attorney Rick Triplett of Graves, Dougherty, Hearon & Moody was elected president of the AFS board of directors. Triplett joined the board in 2000 and will replace documentary filmmaker Marcy Garriott as board president.

Dentler has been a part of the SXSW staff since 2000, and currently oversees the daily operations of programming and coordination for the annual festival and panels. Dentler has served as juror for the Cine Las Americas Film Festival, the Cinematexas International Shorts Film Festival and Sony’s “Make Your Mark” sweepstakes hosted by AtomFilms. He is also a curator for the American distributor Film Movement and Canadian distributor Films We Like. He is a contributing music writer for the weekly Austin Chronicle and hosts the weekly Austin PBS series, “SXSW Presents.”

At age 33, Levin became the youngest CEO in broadcast television history when he became president of entertainment of The WB television network. He joined the network before its January 1995 launch and helped develop such shows as “Dawson’s Creek,” “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “Smallville,” “Gilmore Girls,” “Everwood” and “One Tree Hill.” Levin is a member of the Directors Guild of America and recently completed his term as president of the Hollywood Radio and Television Society. He was named the 2004 television executive of the year by The Caucus For Television Producers.

He currently serves on the Advisory Council for the University of Texas’ College of Communications and is a member of the university’s Chancellor’s Council. He is a board member of the Los Angeles Free Clinic and Rock the Vote and serves on the board of trustees of the Entertainment Industries Council.

“Matt and Jordan add to our talent pool and expand our national reach,” says Rebecca Campbell, AFS executive director. “With their addition to the board of directors, AFS can become more effective at fulfilling our mission of supporting filmmakers and promoting film appreciation.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox