Back to IndieWire

“Capote” Named Best Picture of ’05 By National Society of Film Critics

"Capote" Named Best Picture of '05 By National Society of Film Critics

A final group of critics, representing publications from across the country, named Bennett Miller‘s “Capote” the best picture of the year yesterday. The Sony Pictures Classics release, which has earned an estimated $12.6 million after 15 weeks in release, was one of a few films recognized by all of the Hollywood guilds last week, earning nominations for best picture, director, actor, and writer from the PGA, DGA, SAG and WGA respectively. David Cronenberg‘s “A History of Violence” was the runner-up in best picture balloting by the National Society of Film Critics, followed by Wong Kar-wai‘s “2046“. Cronenberg was named best director by the group.

Founded in 1966, the National Society of Film Critics is made up of 57 American film critics from publications in New York, Los Angeles, Atlanta, Boston, Philadelphia, and Chicago, as well as leading U.S. weekly news magazines.

Werner Herzog‘s “Grizzly Man” was selected as the best documentary of the year, while Fatih Akin‘s “Head-on” was honored as the best foreign language film.

The award for best screenplay went to Noah Baumbach for “The Squid and the Whale,” an indie film that debuted at Sundance last year and has been quite popular with awards groups, critics and guilds this year. In its 14th week in release by Samuel Goldwyn Films/Sony Pictures Entertainment, the film has earned an estimated $5.6 million.

Philip Seymour Hoffman, the star of “Capote” was named the best actor of the year for his performance as the legendary literary figure, while Reese Witherspoon was named best actress for her role as June Carter in the Johnny Cash biopic, “Walk The Line.” Ed Harris was named best supporting actor for “A History of Violence” and Amy Adams was selected as best supporting actor for “Junebug.”

The complete list of winners is posted below (information provided by the National Society of Film Critics):


1. Capote (Bennett Miller)
2. A History of Violence (David Cronenberg)
3. 2046 (Wong Kar-wai)

1. Grizzly Man (Werner Herzog)
2. Darwin’s Nightmare (Hubert Sauper)
3. Ballets Russes (Daniel Geller, Dayna Goldfine)

1. Head-On (Fatih Akin)
2. 2046 (Wong Kar-wai)
3. Cache (Michael Haneke)

1. David Cronenberg (A History of Violence)
2. Wong Kar-wai (2046)
3. Bennett Miller (Capote)

1. The Squid and the Whale (Noah Baumbach)
2. Capote (Dan Futterman)
3. Munich (Tony Kushner and Eric Roth)

1. 2046 (Christopher Doyle, Kwan Pun-leung, Lai Yiu-fai)
2. Good Night, and Good Luck. (Robert Elswit)
3. The New World (Emmanuel Lubezki)

1. Philip Seymour Hoffman (Capote)
2. Jeff Daniels (The Squid and the Whale)
3. Heath Ledger (Brokeback Mountain)

1. Ed Harris (A History of Violence)
2. Frank Langella (Good Night, and Good Luck.)
2. Matthieu Amalric (Munich)

1. Reese Witherspoon (Walk the Line)
2. Keira Knightley (Pride and Prejudice)
3. Vera Farmiga (Down to the Bone)
3. Kate Dollenmayer (Funny Ha Ha)

1. Amy Adams (Junebug)
2. Ziyi Zhang (2046)
3. Catherine Keener (Capote, The Interpreter, Ballad of Jack and Rose, The 40-Year-Old Virgin)

1. “Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One” (1968) and “Take Two” (2005), William Greaves’ remarkable investigation into the nature of the acting process and power relationships on a movie set.
2. “13 Lakes,” “Ten Skies”, and “27 Years Later,” the three 2005 productions of James Benning. Few have done more over the last thirty years to expand the sensory and temporal boundaries of moving pictures.

“Unseen Cinema”, the 7-disc DVD box set collection of pre-1942 American avant-garde cinema assembled by Anthology Film Archives and Bruce Posner — a massive and unprecedented undertaking made in concert with 60 other film archives and preservation organizations across the globe.”

The NSFC commends and congratulates our colleagues Kevin Thomas for his 44-year tenure as a movie critic at the Los Angeles Times, for his tireless championing in the heart of the world’s movie capital of the power and beauty of independent, experimental and foreign film, for his long and important service to moviegoers around the industry, the country and the world.

Eugene Hernandez is the Editor-in-Chief of indieWIRE.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox