Back to IndieWire

Foreign Finalists Selected for Student Academy Award

Foreign Finalists Selected for Student Academy Award

Five finalists from 29 entries representing 22 foreign countries have been selected to compete for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences‘ 2006 Honorary Foreign Film Award in the Student Academy Awards competition. The winning student filmmaker will be brought to Los Angeles in June to participate, along with U.S.-based winners of the 33rd Student Academy Awards, in a week of industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the awards presentation ceremony on June 10 in Beverly Hills. The finalists are: “Being Holger,” Kasper Gardsoe, The National Film School of Denmark. “Elalini,” Tristan Holmes, The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance (AFDA). “The Measure of Things,” Sven Bohse, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany. “Melodrama,” Filip Marczewski, The Polish National Film School. “La Ruta Natural,” Alex Pastor, The Superior Graduate School of Cinema and Audiovisuals of Catalonia, Spain. Several past winners in the Foreign Student Film competition have gone on to achieve further recognition by the Academy. Tickets for the 33rd Student Academy Awards presentation ceremony, at which the winning foreign student film will be screened in its entirety along with the other Gold Medal-winning films from the U.S., are free and available beginning May 1. To request a maximum of four tickets, call the Academy at (310) 247-3000, ext. 130, or print an order form from the Academy’s website. [Brian Brooks]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox