Back to IndieWire

2006 Festival de Cannes Winners

2006 Festival de Cannes Winners

The winners of the 2006 Festival de Cannes are being announced tonight in France.

Palme d’Or:

The Wind That Shakes The Barley” by Ken Loach

Grand Prix (runner-up):

Flanders” by Bruno Dumont

Prix de la Mise en Scene (Best Director):

Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for “Babel

Prix du Scenario (Best Screenplay Award):

Pedro Almodovar for “Volver

Camera d’Or (For best first feature):

“A Fost sau n-a fost?” (12:08 East of Bucharest) by Corneliu Porumbolu

Prix du Jury (Jury Prize):

Red Road” by Andrea Arnold

Prix d’interpretation feminine (Best Actress):

Ensemble female cast of “Volver” by Pedro Almodovar (Penelope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Duenas, Blanca Portillo, Yohana Cobo, Chus Lampreave)

Prix d’interpretation masculine (Best Actor):

Ensemble male cast of “Indigenes” by Rachid Bouchareb (Jamel Debbouze, Samy Naceri, Sami Bouajila, Roschdy Zem, Bernard Blancan)

Court-Metrage (Short Film):

Palme d’Or (short film): “Sniffer” by Bobby Peers

Prix Du Jury: “Premiera Nieve” by Pablo Aguero

Popular on IndieWire

Special Mention: Conte de quartier” by Florence Miaihe

[indieWIRE will have a complete report from the awards ceremony in Cannes later today.]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox