Back to IndieWire

RS: ‘Thom Yorke on Going Solo’

RS: 'Thom Yorke on Going Solo'

Radiohead hasn’t released a proper studio album since 2003’s Hail to the Thief. There were side projects, tours, and rumors of new studio tinkering. Then, the band appeased fans around the globe when they announced a summer tour but still left them hungry with no news about studio projects. And then, more or less out of the blue, frontman Tom Yorke has revealed plans for a solo album. Not only “plans,” but the album itself, due July 11. Entitled The Eraser, the record instantly became the most highly anticipated college-radio rock release of the summer. Yorke caught up with David Fricke of Rolling Stone, to chat about the new solo material as well as future Radiohead plans:

Yorke: My big problem with corporate structure is this bizarre sense of loyalty you’re supposed to feel — towards what is basically a virus. It grows or dies, like any virus. And you use it for your own selfish ends. Jonny had a big problem with the fact that we didn’t have any obligation — a release date or anything. He found it difficult to work in a vacuum. Which is one of the reasons why we chose to go out on tour: “This is something we can work toward.” It’s human nature. Personally, I don’t have that. But I can see why, if you’re a group of people, you need it.

The reported tracklisting of The Eraser is:

01 the eraser
02 analyse
03 the clock
04 black swan
05 skip divided
06 atoms for peace
07 and it rained all night
08 harrowdown hill
09 cymbal rush

Plus, “black swan” plays over the closing credits of Richard Linklater’s A Scanner Darkly.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged