Back to IndieWire

Winners Named at 33rd Student Academy Awards

Winners Named at 33rd Student Academy Awards

Winners of the 2006 Student Academy Awards were honored in Beverly Hills Saturday night, with honorees named gold, silver or bronze medalists and each receiving a cash award ($5,000, $3,000 or $2,000 respectively). Sean Overbeeke‘s “Christmas Wish List” (from the University of North Carolina) won the top prize in the narrative category, while Carrie Lozano‘s “Reporter Zero” (from the University of California, Berkeley) was the gold medal winner in the documentary category. Tristan Holmes‘ “Elalini” (from South Africa) was the Honorary Foreign Film Winner, chosen from a pool of 29 submissions from 22 countries.

Established in 1972, the Student Academy Awards have honored a number of established filmmakers, including Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis, John Lasseter and Trey Parker. Nia Vardalos, Kevin Smith and Academy president Sid Ganis presented the prizes at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Southern California, capping off a week of industry activities for the nominees.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented its 33rd Annual Student Academy Awards on Saturday in Beverly Hills. Pictured here are all of this year’s winners. Front row (left to right): Carrie Lozano, Tristan Holmes, Meng Vue, Xiaoli Zhou, Cady Abarca-Benevidas, Chris Choy. Back row (left to right): Thomas Leavitt, Mak Hossain, Travis Hatfield, Samuel Day, Jennifer Handorf, Moon Molson, Sean Overbeeke, Carmen Vidal Balanzat. Photo copyright A.M.P.A.S.

The list of winners follows:

Gold Medal:Perspective,” Travis Hatfield and Samuel Day, Ball State University, Indiana
Silver Medal:6 A.M.,” Carmen Vidal Balanzat, City College of New York (Only gold and silver medals were awarded in the Alternative category.)

Gold Medal:The Possum,” Chris Choy, California Institute of the Arts
Silver Medal:The Dancing Thief,” Meng Vue, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida
Bronze Medal:Turtles,” Thomas Leavitt, Brigham Young University

Gold Medal:Reporter Zero,” Carrie Lozano, University of California, Berkeley
Silver Medal:The Women’s Kingdom,” Xiaoli Zhou, University of California, Berkeley
Bronze Medal:Three Beauties,” Mak Hossain, Purdue University

Gold Medal:Christmas Wish List,” Sean Overbeeke, University of North Carolina
Silver Medal:El Viaje” (“One Day Trip”), Cady Abarca-Benavides, Columbia University
Bronze Medal:Pop Foul,” Moon Molson and Jennifer Handorf, Columbia University

Honorary Foreign Student Film Award
Elalini,” Tristan Holmes, The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged