You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Das Fraulein” Wins Top Prize at 12th Sarajevo Fest

"Das Fraulein" Wins Top Prize at 12th Sarajevo Fest

Swiss filmmaker Andrea Staka‘s “Das Fraulein” won the jury prize, the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Film, at the Sarajevo Film Festival, which concluded Saturday. The film, also winner of the Golden Leopard prize at the recent Locarno International Film Festival, is the story the women who live in different regions of the former Yugoslavia, where Staka’s family is from. The prize was chosen by filmmaker Jasmila Zbanic, Fortissimo’s Wouter Barendrecht, director Jan Cvitkovic, Kim Dong-ho from the Pusan International Film Festival, and director of the Cannes Market Jerome Paillard.

The festival’s best actress award went to Marija Skaricic from “Das Fraulein” and the best actor award was presented to Rakan Rushaidat for his role in Antonio Nuic‘s “All For Free“. A special jury award was presented to Faruk Loncarevic‘s “Mum’N’Dad” from Bosnia and Herzegovina. Calling the director a “talent to watch,” the jury praised the movie as, “a truly original first film that combines a courageous and non populist topic with an assured and an impressive consistent style.” And, a special mention went to Radu Muntean‘s “Paper Will Be Blue” from Romania.

In the festival’s documentary competition, Ivona Juka won the Heart of Sarajevo for Documentary Film for “Facing The Day” from Croatia, while the human rights award went to Janko Baljak‘s “Vukovar – Final Cut” from Serbia.

Michael Winterbottom and Matt Whitecross‘ “The Road to Guantanamo” was the winner of the audience award for best film, according to voting tabulated as the 12th annual event came to a close.

Gela Babluani‘s “13 Tzameti” closed the festival in Sarajevo this weekend, while Pedro Almodovar‘s “Volver” wrapped up screenings at the fest’s open air cinema.

In the short film competition, Marko Santic‘s “Good Luck Nedim” won the Heart of Sarajevo for best film, with special jury mentions for Tanja Golic‘s “It’s Not That I Know, That’s Just The Way It Is” from Croatia and Yiannis Gaitanidis‘ “Thought of the Day” from Greece.

Honorary Heart of Sarajevo awards were presented to British director Mike Leigh and Bosnia and Herzegovina Minister of Culture and Sport, Gavrilo Grahovac.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox