Back to IndieWire

LA Film Critics Name “Letters from Iwo Jima” best picture of the Year; Paul Greengrass Takes best di

LA Film Critics Name "Letters from Iwo Jima" best picture of the Year; Paul Greengrass Takes best di

Clint Eastwood‘s “Letters from Iwo Jima” was named best picture of the year by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA), while Stephen Frears‘ “The Queen” took runner-up, Henry Sheehan, president of the organization announced Sunday evening. Paul Greengrass (“United 93“) received the best director prize, while Eastwood took runner-up, and in the actress category, Dame Helen Mirren took the top spot for “The Queen,” while Penelope Cruz was given the second position for her role in “Volver.” “Borat” star Sacha Baron Cohen tied for best actor with Forest Whitaker in “The Last King of Scotland.” [Click on title to view the full list of winners.]
The full list of winners:

Best Picture of the Year: “Letters from Iwo Jima,” Runner-up: “The Queen”

Director: Paul Greengrass, “United 93,” Runner-up: Clint Eastwood, “Flags of our Fathers”, “Letters from Iwo Jima”

Actress: Helen Mirren, “The Queen,” Runner-up: Penelope Cruz, “Volver”

Actor: Tie – Sacha Baron Cohen, “Borat” and Forest Whitaker, “The Last King of Scotland”

Screenplay: “The Queen” by Peter Morgan, Runner-up: “Little Miss Sunshine” by Michael Arndt

Supporting Actress: Luminita Gheorghiu, “The Death of Mr. Lazarescu,” Runner-up: Jennifer Hudson, “Dreamgirls”

Supporting Actor: Michael Sheen, “The Queen,” Runner-up: Sergi Lopez, “Pan’s Labyrinth”

Foreign Language Film: “The Lives of Others” directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, Runner-up: “Volver” directed by Pedro Almodovar

Documentary/Non-fiction film: “An Inconvenient Truth” directed by Davis Guggenheim, Runner-up: “Darwin’s Nightmare” directed by Hubert Sauper

Production Design: Eugenio Caballero, “Pan’s Labyrinth,” Runner-up: Jim Clay, Veronica Falzon, Geoffrey Kirkland, “Children of Men”

Animation: “Happy Feet” (George Miller), Runner-up: “Cars” (John Lasseter, Joe Ranft)

Music: Alexandre Desplat, “The Painted Veil” and “The Queen,” Runner-up: Thomas Newman, “The Good German” and “Little Children”

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Children of Men,” Runner-up: Tom Stern, “Flags of our Fathers” and “Letters from Iwo Jima”

New Generation: Michael Arndt, Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris – “Little Miss Sunshine”

Career Achievement: Robert Mulligan (previously announced)

Independent/Experimental: Tie – “Old Joy” directed by Kelly Reichardt and “In Between Days” directed by So Yong Kim

Special Citations: To Jean-Pierre Melville’s 1969 film “Army of Shadows” which had its U.S. premiere this year, and to Jonas Mekas for his career as a critic and filmmaker.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox