Back to IndieWire

BERLIN ’07 | “Tuya’s Wedding” Wins Golden Bear at ’07 Berlinale; Joseph Cedar Wins Directing Prize

BERLIN '07 | "Tuya's Wedding" Wins Golden Bear at '07 Berlinale; Joseph Cedar Wins Directing Prize

Wang Quan’an‘s “Tuya’s Marriage” won the top prize, the Golden Bear, at the 2007 Berlinale, awarded tonight at the festival’s closing ceremony in Germany’s capital city. The film is the story of a woman (Yu Nan) living in rural northwestern Mongolia and facing pressure to abandon her life as a shepherd.

Joseph Cedar won the Silver Bear for best director for his film “Beaufort,” set in Lebanon in 2000. “This is a story about how wars end,” said Cedar while accepting his award on stage at the Berlinale Palast on Saturday night, adding “And its about fear, my own fear and I want to wish us all that our leaders be fearful of war and find the courage to know how to end them.”

The Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize went to “El Otro” (The Other), directed by Ariel Rotter, while Park Chan-wook‘s distinctive “I Am A Cyborg But That’s OK” won the festival’s Alfred Bauer Prize, named for the founder of the Berlinale and honoring a work of particular innovation.

“Tuya’s Wedding” director Wang Quan’an accepts his Golden Bear at the Berlinale awards ceremony. Image courtesy Berlinale

The complete list of jury prize winners follows, including a list of other award winners:

Golden Bear:
Tuya’s Wedding,” by Wang Quan’an

Silver Bear – The Jury Grand Prix:
El Otro” (The Other), directed by Ariel Rotter

Silver Bear – Best Director:
Joseph Cedar, “Beaufort”

Silver Bear – Best Actress:
Nina Hoss in “Yella”

Silver Bear – Best Actor:
Julio Chavez for “The Other” (El Otro)

Silver Bear – Artistic Contribution:
Ensemble cast of “The Good Shepherd

Silver Bear – Best Film Music:
David Mackenzie for his film “Hallam Foe”

Alfred Bauer Prize:
I Am A Cyborg, But That’s OK” by Park Chan-wook

The jury prizes above were selected by the international jury that included: Jury president Paul Schrader (whose new film “The Walker” debuted earlier week), and jurors including Danish editor Molly Malene Stensgaard, American actor Willem Dafoe, German actor Mario Adorf, French/Palestinian actor/director Hiam Abbass, Mexican actor Gael Garcia Bernal, and Chinese producer Nansun Shi.

Other awards at the 2006 Berlinale:

Competition: “I Served The King Of England” (Obsluhoval jsem anglickeho krale,” directed by Jiri Menzel
Panorama: “Takva – A Man’s Fear Of God” (Takva), directed by Ozer Kiziltan
Forum: “Hounds” (Jagdhunde), directed by Ann-Kristin Reyels

Manfred Salzberger Prize
The Tracey Fragments,” directed by Bruce McDonald

Panorama Audience Award
Feature: “Blindsight,” directed by Lucy Walker

Teddy Awards
Feature: “Spider Lillies” (Ci-Qing), directed by
Documentary: “A Walk Into The Sea: Danny Williams And The Warhol Factory,” directed by Esther B. Robinson
Special mention: “La Leon,” directed by Santiago Otheguy
TEDDY Foundation Award: Actor Helmut Berger with a Special Teddy for his complete work.
The Teddy Ballot Volkswagen Audience Award: “Notes On a Scandal,” directed by Richard Eyre
Siegessaule Reader’s Jury Award: “The Bubble,” directed by Eytan Fox

Berliner Morgenpost Readers’ Prize
Irina Palm,” directed by Sam Garbarski

The “Tagesspiegel” Readers’ Jury
Heimatklange,” directed by Stefan Schwietert

A complete list of additional prizes from the independent juries is available on the Berlinale website.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged