Back to IndieWire

Dixie Chicks to be Honored at Texas Film Hall of Fame

Dixie Chicks to be Honored at Texas Film Hall of Fame

The Dixie Chicks will receive the AMD LIVE! Soundtrack Award as part of the seventh annual Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards Friday, March 9, the Austin Film Society has announced. In the past year, the Chicks received five Grammys including Album of the year and saw the release of their doc, “Shut Up and Sing” by Barbara Kopple and Cecilia Peck. Band members Martie Maguire and Emily Robison will receive the award. As previously announced, this year’s ceremony will pay tribute to the Honorable Ann Richards, former governor of Texas, who acted as the ceremony’s emcee from 2002 to 2005. Also, actorss Bill Paxton, Betty Buckley and director Richard Linklater will be inducted into the Texas Film Hall of Fame. Producer Elizabeth Avellan will receive the first ever Ann Richards Award in recognition of her barrier-breaking accomplishments in the filmmaking industry. Syndicated columnist Liz Smith, a Fort Worth native and 2001 Hall of Fame inductee, will serve as emcee. [Brian Brooks]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox