You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Ann Arbor Fest Announces Winners

Ann Arbor Fest Announces Winners

The 45th Ann Arbor Film Festival has concluded in Michigan with Jessie Stead winning the Ken Burns award for best of the festival for “Foggy Mountains Breakdown More Than Non-Foggy Mountains,” described as “an adventurous musical road-trip of an experimental film.” The festival’s Gus Van Sant award for best experimental film went to Jacqueline Goss‘ “Stranger Comes to Town,” looking at (in the words of an announcement), “border-crossing and identity by combining material from the on-line game World of Warcraft, Google Earth and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.” Acclaimed animator Don Hertzfeldt won the Lawrence Kasdan award for best narrative film for “Everything Will Be OK.” Local filmmakers Chris McNamara (“Establishing Shots“) and Brandon Walley (“Unified Fields“) were also honored. McNamara received the Detroit Film Center award and Walley won the Michigan Vue magazine award for best Michigan filmmaker. For more information, please visit the festival website. [Eugene Hernandez]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox