You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Rockefeller Funds $750,000 for 22 Artists

iW NEWS | Rockefeller Funds $750,000 for 22 Artists

Renew Media has announced the roster of twenty-two artists who are receiving Media Arts fellowships funded by the Rockefeller Foundation. Twenty film, video, and new media artists will receive $35,000, while two emerging film/video artists will each receive $10,000. Announcing the recipients at a Tribeca Film Festival ceremony last night in New York City, Renew (formerly known as National Video Resources) also toasted the 20 year program which has presented some $12 million to 500 artists since it was formed by Rockefeller. Film and Media fellows chosen to receive support this year include: Natalia Almada, Jonathan Caouette, Nathaniel Dorsky, Rob Epstein, Marina Goldovskaya, Ken Jacobs, So Yong Kim, Won Ju Lim, Larry Blackhorse Low, Jake Mahaffy, Heather Rae, Godfrey Reggio, Kelly Reichardt, David Russo, Hank Willis Thomas, and Chel White. New Media Fellows include: Jon Haddock, Kenneth Tin-Kin Hung, Chico Macmurtrie, Cat Mazza, Richard Pell, and Kurt Ralske.

In a statement, Renew Media executive director Brian Newman said, “Often, the Fellowship award represents the crucial ‘first money’ given in support of a project. We look forward to seeing the continued success of the artists awarded Fellowships tonight.” [Eugene Hernandez]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged