Back to IndieWire

SXSWclick 2007: Dates, Jury, Prizes

SXSWclick 2007: Dates, Jury, Prizes

From an announcement we sent out today:

Austin, TX – May 1, 2007 – The South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference & Festival is happy to announce the 4th annual SXSWclick online media fest. The summertime short-form event has become an acclaimed opportunity for filmmakers around the globe to share their work via SXSW’s online community. The call for entries has begun, with a deadline of June 15, 2007. Submissions can be entered via the official SXSWclick site:

“Over the last couple years, SXSWclick has become more and more essential,” says SXSW Film Festival Producer Matt Dentler. “Now in its fourth year, we are as excited as ever to showcase some of the best short-form filmmaking the world has to offer.”

To be eligible for the SXSWclick event, shorts must be under 10 minutes in length and can be submitted on DVD. Full rules and regulations for the fest are available on the official site. On June 25, SXSW will announce three finalists in five different shorts categories: “Old School Shorts” (narrative), “Really Real Shorts” (documentary), “Sound Checks” (music video), “Animate It” (animated), and “What the F?” (humor and/or experimental). The finalists will be judged by audience votes and jury consideration. There is an assortment of special prizes for the winners, including the one Grand Jury Prize taken from all five categories, which will include a MacPro Workstation and Apple Cinema Display courtesy of iThentic.

“Having iThentic onboard this year should help our filmmakers gain even greater exposure,” says Dentler. “And winning a MacPro Workstation isn’t bad, either.”

In addition, the five winners in each category will be automatically selected for the 2008 SXSW Film Festival, taking place March 7-15, 2008 in Austin, Texas. This year’s SXSWclick jury includes: filmmakers Bob Odenkirk (Mr. Show), Doug Pray (Scratch), AJ Schnack (Kurt Cobain About a Son), Craig Zobel (Great World of Sound), Cherien Dabis (Make a Wish), among others. The juries will also include online bloggers/personalities such as Violet Blue, Eddie Codel, and Agnes Varnum, as well as Wholphin shorts curator Emily Doe.

For more information, visit:

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged