Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | San Sebastian Fest Announces Winners

iW NEWS | San Sebastian Fest Announces Winners

Wayne Wang‘s “A Thousand Years of Good Prayers” was awarded the Golden Shell for best film at the 55th annual San Sebastian Film Festival. The film’s star Henry O. also took home the Silver Shell for Best Actor. Based on a short story by Yiyun Li, “Prayers” marks a return to low-budget filmmaking for Hong Kong born Wang after recent films “Maid in Manhattan” and “Last Holiday.” Other major winners included Spain’s Blanca Portillo, who won the Silver Shell for Best Actress for her work in Gracis Querejeta‘s “Seven Billiards Table,” UK-based Nick Broomfield, who won Best Director for the Iraq drama “Battle For Haditha,” and Iran’s Hana Makhmalbaf, just 19 years old, who won the Special Jury Prize for her film “Buddha Collapsed Out of Shame.” The jury prize for Best Screenplay was shared between John Sayles (for “Honeydripper“) and writing team Gracia Querejeta and Daniel Plannell (for “Seven Billiards Table“), Julian Schnabel‘s “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” won the European Film Award, and Lebanon’s Nadine Labaki won both the Audience Award and a special Youth Award for her film, “Caramel“. The festival’s jury was presided by American director and author Paul Auster (who worked with Wayne Wang on “Smoke” and “Blue in the Face“). [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox