Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Slamdance Screenplay Winners Announced

iW NEWS | Slamdance Screenplay Winners Announced

The winners of the 12th Annual Slamdance Screenplay Competition have been announced, with Anthony Meindl‘s screenplay, “The Wonder Girls,” taking the top honor. The script, about the German women’s Olympic swim team, was given a $7,000 cash prize for best feature-length screenplay. “Ezzy Fish,” by Tamar Halpren, “An Entire Body“, by Bryan Wizemann, “Child in the Dark“, by Damian Lahey and Ian Ogden and “The Falling Sky” by Greg Weed rounded out the top five of the announced top ten finalists. The winners were announced last week at a special awards reception at the Writers Guild of America, West. Attendees included Slamdance alumni and members of the WGAw Independent Writers Caucus. Slamdance received more than 2,000 submissions for the Screenplay Competition, which strives to bring attention to talented new and emerging screenwriters and introduce them to the industry. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox