Back to IndieWire

15 Documentaries Named to New Shortlist; Festival Programmers, Doc Insiders Unveil New Nonfiction Aw

15 Documentaries Named to New Shortlist; Festival Programmers, Doc Insiders Unveil New Nonfiction Aw

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences‘ recent announcement of the short list of films competing for the best documentary Oscar stirred frustration among a community of filmmakers and insiders back in November. Fueled by online discussion via blogs, a coalition within the nonfiction and film festval community is launching a new outlet to celebrate the best documentary films of the year. Seeking to challenge the results of other institutions, filmmaker AJ Schnack, a vocal critic of the Oscar list, has enlisted the support of online independent film distributor IndiePix and the opinions of a host of North American film festival programmers to launch a new nonfiction filmmaking awards event, set for March 18, 2008 at IFC Center in New York City.

“In November, when the Oscar short list came out, it seemed to so many people that it was not reflective of the year we all experienced in documentary,” said Schnack, whose “Kurt Cobain About A Son,” during a conversation with indieWIRE on Friday. He secured the support of IndiePix and enlisted Toronto International Film Festival doc programmer Thom Powers to co-chair the new awards event.

Joining Powers selecting the nominees in eight categories, ranging from best doc, best international feature, and best debut feature as well as best achievement in directing, producing, editing, cinematography, graphics and animation, are a group of film festival programmers. Committee members along with Toronto’s Thom Powers include Phoebe Brush (Full Frame), Matt Dentler (SXSW), Sean Farnel (Hot Docs), Tom Hall (Sarasota), David Kwok (Tribeca), Cara Mertes (Sundance), David Nugent (Hamptons), Rachel Rosen (Los Angeles), Sky Sitney (SilverDocs), David Wilson (True/False) and Brit Withey (Denver).

While Schnack and IndiePix will annouce the nominees and the name of the new awards later this month during the Sundance Film Festival, this weekend they unveiled a short list of their own, naming the 15 films competing for outstanding achievement in nonfiction filmmaking:

Billy the Kid,” directed by Jennifer Venditti
Deep Water,” directed by Louise Osmond and Jerry Rothwell
The Devil Came on Horseback,” directed by Ricki Stern and Anne Sundberg
Ghosts of Cite Soleil,” directed by Asger Leth
In the Shadow of the Moon,” directed by David Sington
Into Great Silence,” directed by Philip Groning
Lake of Fire,” directed by Tony Kaye
Manda Bala (Send a Bullet),” directed by Jason Kohn
Manufactured Landscapes,” directed by Jennifer Baichwal
The Monastery – Mr. Vig and the Nun,” directed by Pernille Rose Gronkjær
No End in Sight,” directed by Charles Ferguson
Sicko,” directed by Michael Moore
Taxi to the Dark Side,” directed by Alex Gibney
The Unforeseen,” directed by Laura Dunn
Zoo,” directed by Robinson Devor

The shortlist was culled from a roster of 76 eligible films, based on criteria that included theatrical release, a certain amount of film festival play, and a level of box office success. Schnack removed his own “About A Son” from consideration, but “Billy The Kid,” which was co-financed and produced in part by IndiePix, remains eligible. Schnack told indieWIRE on Friday that the festival programmers did not know about IndiePix’s involvement in the event at the time they cast their nomination votes.

The winners of the new Honors in Nonfiction Filmmaking will be selected by a larger pool of voters, including filmmakers, distributors, programmers and writers, according to an announcement being made today by Schnack and IndiePix. More details about the new awards are available on the IndiePix website.

“When that Oscar short list post came out, [AJ Schnack] was calling for this new movement in nonfiction film and [new ways of] thinking about non fiction film,” explained the company’s Danielle DiGiacomo, during the conversation with indieWIRE, “We are trying to position IndiePix as as compay that really supports filmmakers and innovative thinking about filmmaking.” Continuing, she sought to draw a contrast with the way the Oscars are chosen, adding, “One of the things that we are really stressing here is the transparency of these awards [and] and openness about the nomination committee.”

Noting that other organizations seem to emphasize content and issue-driven work rather than focus on the art of nonfiction film, AJ Schnack explained that the new documentary awards were designed as, “a way to focus on some of the craft elements in non-fiction filmmaking.”

“You can only bitch about documentaries not getting their due for so long before you have to do something,” event co-chair Thom Powers told indieWIRE today. “The various pre-existing awards each have their strengths, but none seem to be reflecting the depth and range of talent that I witnessed in 2007. That feeling was shared my many doc makers I talked to. I think this honor is a nice complement to the others.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox