Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards Winners Announced

iW NEWS | Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards Winners Announced

The Sundance Institute and NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation) announced the winners of the 2008 Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards. The four winners were selected from 12 finalists by an international jury which included Gregg Araki, Jeremy Pikser, Erin Cressida Wilson, Martin Rejtman, Andrucha Waddington, Shekhar Kapur and Anand Tucker. The winners were Alejandro Fernandez for “Huacho,” Braden King for “Here,” Aiko Nagastu for “Apoptosis” and Radu Jude for “The Happiest Girl in the World.” These annual awards were created in 1996 to honor and support visionary film directors from four global regions (Europe, Latin America, the United States, and Japan) in realizing their next projects. The winning director from each region will receive a $10,000 award and a guarantee from NHK to purchase the Japanese television broadcast rights upon completion of their project. The four winners are presented with the award at the annual Sundance Film Festival Awards Ceremony on Saturday, January 26. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox