You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

AWARDS WATCH | The Oscars: “No Country” Wins Best Picture; Coens Named Best Director

AWARDS WATCH | The Oscars: "No Country" Wins Best Picture; Coens Named Best Director

Ethan Coen and Joel Coen‘s “No Country For Old Men” was the winner of four big Oscars at the 80th Academy Awards tonight in Southern California. The film was named best picture of the year and the Coens won awards for directing and their adaptation of Cormac McCarthy’s novel, while Javier Bardem won the best supporting actor Oscar. The Academy Award for best foreign language film went to Stefan Ruzowitzky‘s “The Counterfeiters” from Austria and the Oscar for best documentary was presented tonight to Alex Gibney‘s “Taxi To the Darkside.”

“Ethan and I have been making stories with movie cameras since we were kids,” recalled Joel Coen, accepting the best director Oscar with his brother, noting, “In the late ’60s when Ethan was 11 or 12, he got a suit and a briefcase and we went to the Minneapolis International Airport with a Super 8 camera and made a movie about shuttle diplomacy called “Henry Kissinger, Man on the Go.” And honestly, what we do now doesn’t feel that much different from what we were doing then.” Concluding, he added, “We’re very thankful to all of you out there for letting us continue to play in our corner of the sandbox, so thank you very much.”

While American stories were celebrated with top awards, European actors lead the way with performance prizes. In addition to Bardem, Daniel Day-Lewis won the Oscar for best actor for “There Will Be Blood” and Marion Cotillard won best actress for “La Vie en Rose,” while Tilda Swinton was honored for best supporting actress for her role in “Michael Clayton.”

Image copyright A.M.P.A.S.

Documentarians spoke out briefly on stage tonight. “It was Lieutenant Laurel Hester’s dying wish that her fight for, against discrimination would make a difference for all the same sex couples across the country that face discrimination every day. Discrimination that I don’t face as a married woman,” noted Cynthia Wade, director of short subject doc winner, “Freeheld.” While Alex Gibney, director of “Taxi to the Dark Side,” recalled the horrors and torture depicted in his film, thanking his father for inspiring the movie. Concluding, he added, “Let’s hope we can turn this country around, move away from the dark side and back to the light.”

But, a highlight for many fans who watched the broadcast was the win for John Carney‘s “Once,” the low-budget Irish film that debuted at Sundance last year and won the Oscar for best song tonight. “This is amazing,” noted musician Glen Hansard, who starred in the film. “What are we doing here? This is mad. We made this film two years ago. We shot on two Handycams. It took us three weeks to make. We made it for a hundred grand. We never thought we would come into a room like this and be in front of you people. It’s been an amazing thing.”

Hansard’s co-star Marketa Irglova was cut off from speaking by swelling music at the end of Hansard’s speech, but after a commercial break, was brought back on stage to speak. “This is such a big deal, not only for us, but for all other independent musicians and artists that spend most of their time struggling, and this, the fact that we’re standing here tonight, the fact that we’re able to hold this, it’s just to prove no matter how far out your dreams are, it’s possible,” Irglova said, adding, “And this song was written from a perspective of hope, and hope at the end of the day connects us all, no matter how different we are.”

The full list of 80th Academy Award winners:

Best motion picture of the year:
No Country For Old Men” (Miramax and Paramount Vantage)

Achievement in directing:
“No Country For Old Men” (Miramax and Paramount Vantage) Joel and Ethan Coen

Performance by an actress in a leading role:
Marion Cotillard in “La Vie En Rose”

Performance by an actor in a leading role:
Daniel Day-Lewis in “There Will Be Blood”

Performance by an actress in a supporting role:
Tilda Swinton in “Michael Clayton”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role:
Javier Bardem for “No Country For Old Men”

Adapted screenplay:
No Country For Old Men,” screenplay by Joel and Ethan Coen

Original screenplay:
Juno,” screenplay by Diablo Cody

Earlier today arriving for the Oscars are (left to right): Best supporting actress winner Tilda Swinton (“Michael Clayton”), Marketa Irglova and Glen Hansard from “Once” (winners for best song), Marion Cottilard (best actress winner for “La Vie en Rose”), and nominee for “There Will Be Blood,” Paul Thomas Anderson with Maya Rudolph. Photos copyright A.M.P.A.S.

Best animated feature film of the year:
Ratatouille,” Brad Bird

Best foreign language film of the year:
The Counterfeiters,” Stefan Ruzowitzky (Austria)

Achievement in art direction
Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” (DreamWorks and Warner Bros., Distributed by DreamWorks/Paramount)
Art Direction: Dante Ferretti
Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo

Achievement in cinematography
There Will Be Blood” (Paramount Vantage and Miramax) Robert Elswit

Achievement in costume design
Elizabeth: The Golden Age” (Universal) Alexandra Byrne

Best documentary feature
Taxi to the Dark Side” (THINKFilm)
An X-Ray Production
Alex Gibney and Eva Orner

Best documentary short subject
A Lieutenant Films Production
Cynthia Wade and Vanessa Roth

Arriving on the red carpet for the Oscars, Ruby Dee from “Michael Clayton,” best supporting actor winner Javier Bardem from “No Country For Old Men,” and “Atonement” star James McAvoy. Photo copyright © A.M.P.A.S.

Achievement in film editing
The Bourne Ultimatum” (Universal) Christopher Rouse

Achievement in makeup
La Vie en Rose” (Picturehouse) Didier Lavergne and Jan Archibald

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)
Atonement” (Focus Features) Dario Marianelli

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)
Falling Slowly” from “Once”
(Fox Searchlight)
Music and Lyric by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova

Best animated short film
Peter & the Wolf” (BreakThru Films)
A BreakThru Films/Se-ma-for Studios Production
Suzie Templeton and Hugh Welchman

Best live action short film
Le Mozart des Pickpockets (The Mozart of Pickpockets)” (Premium Films)
A Kare Production
Philippe Pollet-Villard

On the red carpet this afternoon, “Juno” director Jason Reitman and his father Ivan. And the accountants arrive with the sealed briefcase of winners. Photo copyright A.M.P.A.S.

Achievement in sound editing
The Bourne Ultimatum” (Universal)
Karen Baker Landers and Per Hallberg

Achievement in sound mixing
The Bourne Ultimatum” (Universal)
Scott Millan, David Parker and Kirk Francis

Achievement in visual effects
The Golden Compass” (New Line in association with Ingenious Film Partners)
Michael Fink, Bill Westenhofer, Ben Morris and Trevor Wood

Get the latest from awards weekend anytime in indieWIRE’s special Awards Watch section.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged