You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

BERLIN ’08 | “Tropa de Elite” Wins Golden Bear in Berlin; Silver Bears for Errol Morris (Grand Jury

BERLIN '08 | "Tropa de Elite" Wins Golden Bear in Berlin; Silver Bears for Errol Morris (Grand Jury

Jose Padilha‘s “Tropa de Elite” (The Elite Squad) won the the Golden Bear at the 2008 Berlin International Film Festival tonight in the German capital city, while Errol Morris‘ “Standard Operating Procedure” won the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize, in second place. Paul Thomas Anderson won the Silver Bear award for best director for “There Will Be Blood” and Wang Ziaoshuai won the Silver Bear for best screenplay for “In Love We Trust.”

Among other winners, Sally Hawkins won the award for best actress for Mike Leigh‘s “Happy-Go-Lucky” and Reja Nazi was honored as best actor for Majid Majidi‘s “Song of Sparrows“. The Alfred Bauer Prize for an innovative film went to “Lake Tahoe,” directed by Fernando Eimbcke.

Jurors at the 2008 Berlinale included jury president Costa-Gavras, along with production designer Uli Hanisch, actress Diane Kruger, editor Walter Murch, producer Alexander Rodnyansky, and actress Shu Qi.

“Its just such an honor,” gushed Sally Hawkins, accepting her award on stage. “My legs are gone…on the edge of tears.” Thanking director Mike Leigh, she added, “To be part of this extra beautiful and very special film is such an honor…very happy, very lucky lady.”

More from the Berlinale awards ceremony (left to right): best actress winner Sally Hawkins, festival director Dieter Kosslick, and best screenplay winner Wang Ziaoshuai. Framegrabs via Berlinale webcast

Meanwhile, accepting his award, Paul Thomas Anderson singled out Berlinale festival director Dieter Kosslick, who he praised, “runs the film festival as if he’s having a party in his living room.

In a statement of his own, capping the 2008 Berlinale, Kosslick said, “It was a Berlinale of music, grand emotions, and great artists. The groove was good, and Berlin this year was not cold but cool.”

The complete list of jury prize winners follows, including a list of other award winners:

Golden Bear:Tropa de Elite,” directed by Jose Padilha

Silver Bear – The Jury Grand Prix:Standard Operating Procedure,” directed by Errol Morris

Silver Bear – Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, “There Will Be Blood

Silver Bear – Best Actress:: Sally Hawkins in “Happy-Go-Lucky

Silver Bear – Best Actor: Reja Nazi for “Song of Sparrows

Silver Bear – Best Screenplay: Wang Ziaoshuai for “In Love We Trust” (Zuo You)

Silver Bear – Artistic Contribution: Jonny Greenwood for the score from “There Will Be Blood

Best First Feature Award:Asyl — Park and Love Hotel,” directed by Kumasaka Izuru

Alfred Bauer Prize:Lake Tahoe,” directed by Fernando Eimbcke

Other awards at the 2006 Berlinale:

Competition: “Lake Tahoe,” directed by Fernando Eimbcke
Panorama: “Rusalka” (Mermaid), directed by Anna Melikian
Forum: “Shahida – Brides of Allah” (Brides of Allah), directed by Natalie Assouline

Manfred Salzberger Prize:Megane” (Glasses), directed by Naoko Ogigami

Panorama Audience Award: “Lemon Tree,” directed by Eran Riklis

Teddy Awards
Feature: “The Amazing Truth about Queen Raquela,” by Olaf de Fleur
Documentary: “Football Under Cover,” by David Assmann and Ayat Najafi
Jury mention: “Be Like Others,” by Tanaz Eshaghian
Short film: “Ta,” by Felipe Sholl
The Teddy Ballot Volkswagen Audience Award: “Football Under Cover,” directed by David Assmann and Ayat Najafi
Siegessaule Reader’s Jury Award: “Be Like Others” by Tanaz Eshagian

Berliner Morgenpost Readers’ Prize:I’ve Loved You So Long…” (Il y a longtemps que je t’aime…),” directed by Philippe Claudel

The “Tagesspiegel” Readers’ Jury:God Man Dog” by Singing Chen

A complete list of additional prizes from the independent juries is available on the Berlinale website.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged